Titan : Gaean Trilogy

  • by John Varley
  • Narrated by Allyson Johnson
  • Series: Gaean Trilogy
  • 10 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

John Varley's monumental trilogy - Titan, Wizard, and Demon - has achieved cult status, hailed as a modern triumph of the imagination by critics and fans.It begins with humankind's exploration of a massive satellite orbiting Saturn. It culminates in a shocking discovery: the satellite is a giant alien being. Her name is Gaea. Her awesome interior is mind-boggling - because it is a mind. A mind that calls out to explorers...and transforms all who enter.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A good if dated SciFi Story

My apologies, I wrote my review on book 2 and meant it to be on book 1!

I read a lot of SciFi and this book was a good listen. The narrators voice was a bit difficult for me at first, but once I got used to her, she was actually a very good story teller. The book was written in 1979, so some of the themes are quite dated (The Soviet Union for example), however while dated, it was an entertaining read. I have just purchased the second book and will be listening to it right after I finish Neil Gaiman's latest book.
Read full review

- Ted

A Space Trilogy That Should Be Read. NOW.

Imagine a hollow living ringworld in our solar system, complete with an ecology, mythical centaurs, arians, biological aircraft, riddled with lesser gods, and with living earth references throughout, and run by an almost immortal and insane queen? Now throw in earth explorers that enter this world in the midst of a planet-wide war, and become pawns in a much bigger plan that...

There, enough. I red this in its first printing. All three books. And they're awesome. VERY different. Extremely unique. And at the same time, epic storytelling.

Between the excellent character development, strong plot lines, deep descriptive writing without being weighty, and zero boredom, this is definitely worth your time to listen.

John Varley has a solid body of work, but I consider this this series to be his crowning achievement.

Read full review

- Michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-23-2008
  • Publisher: Audible Studios