Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love...
As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him - with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.
Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.
©2013 Marie Rutkoski (P)2014 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Wendy on 03-24-16

A Winning Story

This is a creative and intelligent story. I think it was well worth the credit and I am looking forward to the second book. Justine Eyre has a strange intonation to the voices; breathy with a weird uptake at the end of sentences. I could not stand it initially but grew used to it. There was definitive differentiation between character's voices though despite the strange speech pattern. It helps to keep the characters straight. Marie Rutkoski's characters are interesting and engaging. The story-line is not something I've read before so it is not predictable or boring.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

By Tonyalee on 07-05-14


What did you like best about The Winner's Curse? What did you like least?

The world. It's very descriptive and unique, I loved learning about the different customs.

Least? The narration and the characters.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I didn't HAVE one. The two main characters were hypocrites.

Was The Winner's Curse worth the listening time?

Honestly, I probably would have enjoyed the book more, had I read it vs listenin to the audio.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc