The Warrior's Apprentice : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Miles Vorkosigan makes his debut in this frenetic coming-of-age tale. At age 17, Miles is allowed to take the entrance exams to the elite military academy; he passes the written but manages, through miscalculation in a moment of anger, to break both his legs on the obstacle course, washing out before he begins. His aged grandfather dies in his sleep shortly after, for which Miles blames himself. Miles is sent to visit his grandmother Naismith on distant Beta Colony, accompanied by his bodyguard, Sergeant Bothari and Bothari's daughter, Elena. Miles passes himself off as a mercenary leader as he picks up a ragtag crew, and soon Miles' father Aral is under political attack back home as garbled rumors of Miles' mercenary operations trickle back. Miles must abandon his new fleet and dash back to Barrayar to stop the plot.


What the Critics Say

"The pace is breathless, the characterization thoughtful and emotionally powerful....Highly recommended." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

worth it!

The warrior's Apprentice is the start of the Vorkosigan Saga in audio. Louis McMaster Bujold has created a fasinating new universe of diverse worlds and an endearing character in Miles Vorkosigan. I have listened to all the audio books in this series and found each to be very entertaining.Each book is complete, not like some series books where you have to wait for the next book to see what happens. Yet, I found I couldn't wait to listen to the next one. At first, I questioned the tone narrator, Grover Gardner used to portray Miles, but as you learn about Miles, Grover Gardner's narration is spot on; He truly is one of the great narrators. This is one of the best sci-fi series ever written.
Read full review

- D

What a great character!

The author creates a futuristic world based on a medieval class structure filled with fully developed and very likable characters. Miles is a character you laugh with, empathize with and become his friend. The series captured my imagination and kept me listening for hours at a time. If you are looking for a series that you can become engrossed in, then start here. Have fun! JWP

Here are the Miles' books in audible in order (MY thanks to other reviewers!):

- The Warrior's Apprentice
- The Vor Game
- Cetaganda
- Brothers in Arms
- Mirror Dance (1994)
- Memory (1996)
- Komarr (1998)
- A Civil Campaign
- Winterfair Gifts
- Diplomatic Immunity

Read full review

- Readalot

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-27-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.