The War : Play to Live

  • by D. Rus
  • Narrated by Michael Goldstrom
  • Series: Play to Live
  • 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The magic flames are raging. Blades are melting. Souls are reduced to ashes in the fury of battle. The grand finale of the war for the First Temple is upon us. The last trump cards have been played, the reserves are all exhausted, and even the gods have engaged in the plebeian fight.
The universe is on the point of collapse. Broken are the chains that hold the worlds together. The icy waters of the Baltic cool the scorching sands of the Frontier. The creatures of AlterWorld spill the first blood on the quiet streets of Earth's cities.
What will Max do? Become embittered and butcher his enemies? Seize the deserted castles and abandoned lands? Attempt to save the one who had given her life defending him? Or try to win the jackpot by finding a way home, back to Earth?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Stop at book 4

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this series through book 4. It really seems that the author didn't really have a vision for books 5 and 6, so these two books consist solely of Max completing more and more ridiculously, grand accomplishments. Save yourself the time and frustration and stop at book 4.

Read full review

- VH

More AlterWorld

I waited to listen to “The War,” and “The Battle,” after reading some of the negative reviews, I think the lag time between the fourth release and five and six had something to do with it also, but I finally got around to them both and thought the continuing story was interesting. In fact the majority of the reviews are positive.
Yes the characters of Bagirah and Tigress are flipped, but that is only a small part of the story and I think anyone that has listened this far can easily adjust; and yes there is an undertone of misogyny, not giving excuses for any type of degradation towards women, but this is from the perspective of a Russian writer. After all this series depicts the Russian cluster and the Dark One as the good guys and have right on their side while the Light Ones are evil; how’s that for a flip.
For those who just want to see Max go on quest after quest and just level up this isn’t a video game; the story is progressing, and Max’s character is growing. The series has shown him start from nothing to the head of his Pantheon and each progression he’s had to overcome greater obstacles, even taking on gods, I think that’s cool; but now the story is getting even more interesting. As had been referenced in the previous books the veil between the Virtual world and Reality was ready to tear. In “The War,” the veil finally comes down and for Max and all of those around him it’s a new world.
The ending of “The War,” is surprising and I can’t way to see what happens next. If you like this series I think we should support these Audio books so they will release number six, “The Ultimatum,” and listen to how this series ends. It’s already out in print but I really like the narrator, Michael Goldstrom, and want to hear the rest of the story from him.

Read full review

- D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-28-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios