Regular price: $20.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Miles Vorkosigan graduates from the Barrayaran Military Academy with high expectations of ship command, but is disappointed with an assignment as meteorologist to Lazkowski Base, an arctic training camp. His tenure in the windy, snow-covered north is cut short when Miles narrowly averts a massacre between the trigger-happy base commander and mutinous recruits. After a brief stay under 'house arrest', Miles is re-assigned to investigate a suspicious military build-up near a wormhole nexus. Reviving his undercover persona as mercenary Admiral Miles Naismith, his routine information-gathering duty expands to a rescue mission when the Emperor of Barrayar disappears during a political conference on a nearby space station. Miles must use his considerable negotiating skills to avoid a showdown between competing powers for control of the wormhole, find the Emperor, and watch his back for the arctic base commander seeking bloody vengeance.
©1990 Lois McMaster Bujold; (P)2005 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

2005 Audie Award Nominee, Science-Fiction
Hugo Award Winner, Best Novel, 1991
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kindle Customer on 09-13-05

Nice introdution to Author

This was the first book I have listened to by this author and I was pleasently surprised. I knew she was an award winning author but was a little afraid to read any of her stuff thinking it is more in the fantasy genre. I do love a good space opera and this was a excellent one I loved the characters and the wit that the lead character has. I also like the reader who I have listened to on other books he brings just the right cadence to his read. I highly recommend this book and hope more of this seris is put out for us to listen to.

Read More Hide me

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

By David Bennett on 07-13-05


Finally some of her Miles series is making it onto audio books. I read this entire series and I loved it. The Vor Game is a great example of the series and is a great moving book about honour and commitments. I recomend any of her books in this series, I have never been disappointed by any of them. Her characters fly from the pages, real and complete, pulling you along through the story as you want to see if Miles manages to succeed, or not. You never quite know for sure what the outcome will be, since he doesn't always get everything he hoped for.

Read More Hide me

29 of 30 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Giulio on 06-08-06

A very good audiobook of a great Bujold novel

If you are already familiar with the novel, then you will find an enjoyable audiobook version. It is well read by a single reader, with good expression. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing my favorite passages, although at points I did wish for more differentiation between the characters. If you are unfamiliar with Bujold's work, the Vorkosigan series is a glorious space opera with great characterization and it is quite funny, poignant and very well written. This is the second Miles Vorkosigan novel so if you are new to the series you may want to pick up 'the Warrior's Apprentice' first, which details the earlier events.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

By Jane on 04-24-07


Another wonderful reading of another wonderful novel. I really like Grove Gardner's readings of the Vorkosigan novels - he gets the humour without reading them as obviously 'funny'. And Miles is such a superb character who develops so well over the series. One to savour.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc