The Tower and the Hive : The Tower and Hive

  • by Anne McCaffrey
  • Narrated by Susan Ericksen
  • Series: The Tower and Hive
  • 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For generations, the descendants of the powerful telepath known as the Rowan have used their various talents to help mankind - some are telepaths, others can teleport through space, others are empathic healers. The clan has grown powerful. They have led Earth to ally itself with the alien Mrdini, and together the two races have held back the predatory Hivers, a deadly insectoid species that kills all life it finds.Like all powerful families, the Rowan clan has also made enemies. There are those who say the treaties with the Mrdini gave away too much - especially, that the Mrdini get more than their fair share of new living space as habitable planets are discovered - that the Hivers should have been exterminated by now, and that far too much power is concentrated in one family.The clan has two goals to keep the peace: to help the Mrdini control population growth, so that newly discovered planets are distributed more evenly, and to put a final halt to Hiver advances. They are confident of success - if they can survive sabotage and assassination attempts aimed at destroying all they have worked for.


What the Critics Say

"Readers looking for intelligent, heroic adventure will find it here, and Rowan fans will be especially pleased at this felicitous closing of a popular SF series." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wrap Up

Bundle things up to close out the series. But not as good as the earlier books in the series.
Read full review

- Farrell

Anne Macafrey is the mother of science fiction

Her ability to take us out amongst the stars is unparalleled. The way she creates different life forms and races is outstanding. I think that any one interested in science fiction should definitly read this series
Read full review

- Craig Pfaff

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio