The Territory

  • by Bradley Denton
  • Narrated by Jared Doreck
  • 2 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this alternate history tale, Samuel Clemens, also known as Mark Twain, joins up with a sordid band of confederate bushwackers to avenge his brother's death at the hands of the Kansas Red Legs. He manages, all the while, to raise his own brand of hell! According to the author, the greatest moment in American literature occurs in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn when Huck says, "All right, then, I'll go to hell." The author's goal is to give his audience that same kind of epiphany.


What the Critics Say

Hugo Award Nominee, Best Novella, 1993

Nebula Award Nominee, Best Novella, 1993
"Jared Doreck reads with a youthful energy and intensity." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very different.

Although I have never heard of him, I think this is probably an amazing writer. There are some things I didn't like about this story, but there's definitely a lot to like here. It's not what I expected, but definitely worth a second listen.
Read full review

- vanessa

A Future Comic in A Kansas Rebel's Court

This is a short story by Bradley Denton, author of such works as Lunatics, Blackburn, and Buddy Holly is Alive and Well on Ganymede. In this short story, he tells of a time when Samuel Clements was part of a small group of rebels who didn't want the Civil War to end and were looking for revenge against the small community of Lawrence, Kansas.
The story is well written and well performed. This has some playfulness which later becomes one of the hallmarks of Denton's works, but it is still early on and the story is too short to really have too much levity.
Samuel Clements is a man torn by the need for revenge and the desire to keep his humanity. This is a tale of revenge, release, and rebirth. It'll keep you entertained for a couple of hours. I recommend. I just wish there was more Denton on Audible besides this and BHIAAWOG.
Read full review

- Tony E.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-31-2007
  • Publisher: Infinivox