The Tears of the Sun : Emberverse

  • by S. M. Stirling
  • Narrated by Todd McLaren
  • Series: Emberverse
  • 22 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's Change Year 25, a generation after high-energy technology died in a catastrophe most of the human race didn't survive. The children born after the Change are now starting to take center stage - and Whoever or Whatever was behind the Change itself may be taking a hand in their rivalries. An expedition has travelled to Nantucked across a strange and hostile continent to find some answers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Admit it, you're in for the duration

Didja ever wonder what was going on in Montival while Rudy and the gang were on the sword quest? Me neither. (12 hours of that) . Dies the Fire was a really fun thought experiment. Hard Sci-fi and swashbucker and whatwouldUdo post-apocalypse thought experiment. I even enjoy trying to use my undergraduate physics (quantum mechanics and Boyles Law) to explain the "change" Macguffin to my friends. The 2-followups set the hook ...or maybe I actually just skimmed the food porn in the first four books (advantage to print). Anyway, I'm still enjoying the ride. But the ride IS getting slower. Makes me wonder why he's spends time recapping the origin stories (like sequels usually do) because anyone still here at book EIGHT was surely here from the beginning. Worth a credit for emberverse fans. If you're new, head for book one then decide.
Read full review

- Robert

off the rails

This series has well and truly passed it's use by date; the author should have terminated the cycle with A meeting at Corvallis. There really is nothing good to say about this latest installment. The story drags with an almost pointless set of flashbacks taking up way too much space, and then the build up to the denouement culminates in the same rushed ending as in the previous book and an attempted cliffhanger.
The characters have become even shallower and the action sequences exceed their previous anime silliness.
A sad and dismal end to what could have been a great series. I will not be getting anything else by this author.
Read full review

- colin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-06-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio