The Sunrise Lands : Emberverse

  • by S. M. Stirling
  • Narrated by Todd McLaren
  • Series: Emberverse
  • 18 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A generation has passed since the Change that rendered technology inoperable around the world, and western Oregon has finally achieved a degree of peace. But a new threat has risen in Paradise Valley, Wyoming. A man known as the Prophet presides over the Church Universal and Triumphant, teaching his followers to continue God's work by destroying the remnants of technological civilization they encounter - and those who dare to use them.Rudi Mackenzie, son and heir of the mystic Juniper, must journey with seven friends across a continent in chaos to the Sunrise Lands to solve the riddle of what destroyed a civilization. And as the friends journey farther into the interior, enemies may be within their own band as well as outside it.


What the Critics Say

"Thought-provoking and engaging." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Am I missing something?

I've never reviwed a book on Audible untill now but I just can't let this slide. I've tried twice now to listen to this book and cant get passed the first 2 or 3 hours without being torn between laughing out loud feeling insulted. If you can wrap your mind around the concept of a takeover of the world by ren fair junkies spouting elvish to each other, swinging swords and thee and thoing each other all over the place within (acording to the authors timeline) less than 20 years of all our machines breaking down. In which time they have constructed elaborate monarchies and religions fought several wars (and don't forget speaking elvish) and basically reverted to a Dungeons and Dragons version of midieval England maybe just maybe there is a story in there. It's beyond me but good luck!

Sorry for the rant.
Read full review

- Wesley

Not a review but an important note:

One thing missing from the reviews is that this is NOT the third book in the series, but rather the start of a second trilogy, in essense the 4th book. The third book isn't available by audible, as far as I can tell.
Read full review

- Andy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-28-2008
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio