The Stars Are Legion

  • by Kameron Hurley
  • Narrated by Nicole Poole, Teri Schnaubelt
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.
Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.
Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?
In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

More

What the Critics Say

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story

The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.
Read full review

- Yoly

HP Lovecraft in Space with Feminism

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

People who are interested in exploration of femininity, pregnancy, motherhood... set in HP Lovecraft style setting. That beings said, I believe there are much better examples of "feminist literature." In particular, I would recommend the "The Dream Quest of Vellitt Boe" as it does a superior job blending those exploration of society and femininity while still giving the reader a good, immersive story that stands on it own without its inner message.


What could Kameron Hurley have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Focused more in characters the world they live in. Hurley clearly has a knack for description and imagination... but it feels like everything, the people, the places, the events are just thinly veiled metaphors for her beliefs. I think she could have spent more time developing her characters and world while strongly representing her beliefs, but it seems like she wasn't really interested on that.


What do you think the narrator could have done better?

At first I thought it was just one narrator doing a really good job with the voices... now I realize it is was two people. Still it was overall a pretty good job as each cha


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Stars Are Legion?

I would have probably cut out half of the two dozen times the author uses "afterbirth" to describe the color, taste, or smell of something (it was like she was trying to figuratively rub the readers' noses in it). I probably would have cut out much of the space scenes as ironically I find them unnecessary to the plot and the overall character arc.


Any additional comments?

All writers/artists imbue their works with their own beliefs and I respect that... but I'm not the type of person that accepts subpar piece of art/literature just because of it's lofty ideals. It goes with out saying I'm not really a fan of most modern performance arts as it is often self-indulgence nonsense without a coherence message in it.

Read full review

- Arvin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio