Regular price: $15.48

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of The Chronicles of St Mary's. The Nothing Girl has grown up....
It's life as usual at Frogmorton Farm - which is to say that events have passed the merely eccentric and are now galloping headlong towards the completely bizarre.
Once again Jenny struggles to stay afloat in the stormy seas of matrimony with her husband, Russell Checkland, together with an unlikely mix of Patagonian Attack Chickens, Jack the Sad Donkey and Mrs Crisp's mysterious boyfriend. The old favourites are still around, of course. There's Marilyn the Omnivorous Donkey, Russell's ex-girlfriend Don't Call Me Franny and the neurotic Boxer, currently failing to deal with butterfly trauma.
So nothing much is new...except for the mysterious figure dogging Jenny's steps and who, if she didn't know better, she would swear was her sinister cousin Christopher, last seen being hurled from the house by her wayward husband. He couldn't possibly be stupid enough to come back and try again.... Could he?
©2017 Jodi Taylor (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Dee on 09-08-17

Loved book one; this one was good but...

Any additional comments?

I was so excited to see a sequel to The Nothing Girl. I loved that book so much and I wanted more of Frogmorton and Russell and Jenny. I even pre-ordered this listen so I wouldn't miss a thing.

The narration was some of the best I've ever listened to. Lucy Price-Lewis was exceptional. She gave us the kinetic nature of Russell, delivered Jenny's stutter without making her seem like a caricature, and still made us believe in talking golden donkeys.

I love that the story picked up after Russell and Jenny were married. The usual suspects were there and there were warm fuzzys all around.

Where I take exception with this listen was in the (SPOILERS) kidnap and subsequent escape. It was so extreme it bordered on slapstick. The conversation between Jenny and Thomas was just too ridiculous (yes, I know she was talking to a golden donkey, but still.) I rolled my eyes so many times during that sequence that I almost hurt myself. And that hospital scene. Why wouldn't they tell the cops the whole story????!!!!!

I have listened to quite a few Jodi Taylor books and I am a definite fan. I liked this book but it was the narration that saved this listen for me.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

By Lynne on 10-23-17

Less charming, more silly

The Nothing Girl was charming in the quirky appeal that Frogmorton had on the reader, but this version has too much silliness for me to enjoy. Russel’s witty conversation in the original sounds much more condescending and their daughter’s presence is very fleeting. Are they the worst parents ever??? Joy seems to have a pretty free range childhood experience, in my opinion.

The ending was almost too silly for me to handle. I actually rolled my eyes a number of times. Performance was strong like the first but the story was rubbish.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Lesley on 11-05-17

From beginning to end, a brilliant audio book.

Good people, bad peoples, warmth, villainy, love, laughter and tears (happy ones!). Once again Jodi Taylor has produced an amazing story that I found hard not listen to constantly. The narration was the icing on the cake. I absolutely loved it. Will there be an “Everything Girl”? I hope so.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Anonymous User on 09-25-17

Wonderful sequel

Wonderful sequel to the first book, intriguing, very funny, a little sad in places and so vivid. Typically Jodi Taylor. Beautifully read.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc