The Skull Throne : The Demon Cycle

  • by Peter V. Brett
  • Narrated by Pete Bradbury
  • Series: The Demon Cycle
  • 25 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first three novels in New York Times best-selling author Peter V. Brett's groundbreaking Demon Cycle series - The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, and The Daylight War - set a new standard for heroic fantasy. The powerful saga of humans winnowed to the brink of extinction by night-stalking demons, and the survivors who fight back, has kept listeners breathless. Now the thrilling fourth volume, The Skull Throne, raises the stakes as it carries the action in shocking new directions.
The Skull Throne of Krasia stands empty. Built from the skulls of fallen generals and demon princes, it is a seat of honor and ancient, powerful magic, keeping the demon corelings at bay. From atop the throne, Ahmann Jardir was meant to conquer the known world, forging its isolated peoples into a unified army to rise up and end the demon war once and for all. But Arlen Bales, the Warded Man, stood against this course, challenging Jardir to a duel he could not in honor refuse. Rather than risk defeat, Arlen cast them both from a precipice, leaving the world without a savior and opening a struggle for succession that threatens to tear the Free Cities of Thesa apart.
In the south, Inevera, Jardir's first wife, must find a way to keep their sons from killing each other and plunging their people into civil war as they strive for glory enough to make a claim on the throne. In the north, Leesha Paper and Rojer Inn struggle to forge an alliance between the duchies of Angiers and Miln against the Krasians before it is too late. Caught in the crossfire is the duchy of Lakton - rich and unprotected, ripe for conquest. All the while, the corelings have been growing stronger, and without Arlen and Jardir there may be none strong enough to stop them. Only Renna Bales may know more about the fate of the missing men, but she, too, has disappeared....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


A little let down, thought this 4th installment would be such an epic...but I felt the over abundance of sexual situations a bit distracting. I also felt that the story didn't really grab me until about 3 hours until its conclusion. The previous three had my attention after a single chapter in. I'll still await the next installment, but am a bit disappointed with the lack of dramatic developments. Less bad ass more politics; and political fantasy novels have never been a favorite of mine. :( aw well. Performance was stellar as usual though!!!
Read full review

- MissRed

Does little to move the overall story along

Bottom Line: if you liked Robert Jordan’s meanderings, you will love this book. I however, was not a fan because this book did not move the overall story along. If some of the stories from this book were standalone novellas, they would be great. As a part of an overall series, however, there is little here of value.

I really liked the Warded Man. It was a great book. It was fast-paced and told an interesting story in an interesting setting. But the book created some false promises for the series—that the series would be fast-paced and focused on the survival of the human race. But instead of focusing on fulfilling the implicit promises of the Warded Man, we have a book focused on ancillary characters. As a result, there is little momentum and drive and little suspense. When it became clear that the main storyline wasn’t going anywhere, I ceased to care about the rest of the book because that part of the story didn't matter that much. Who cares if characters lived or died they will not have an impact on the larger story—the story I was invested in since the Warded Man?

This book didn’t need to exist as a standalone novel. Even though it is 700 pages long, very little happens in the overall story. It would have been much better as a couple ancillary novellas.

The narration of the story was quite good. I really like Pete Bradbury's work here.
Read full review

- Daniel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2015
  • Publisher: Recorded Books