The Sharing Knife, Volume 3 : The Sharing Knife

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Bernadette Dunne
  • Series: The Sharing Knife
  • 14 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Filled with magic, heroism, and all-too-human characters, Bujold's Sharing Knife saga is both a gripping adventure and a poignant romance. In this third volume, Fawn, the young farm girl, and Dag, the seasoned soldier-sorcerer, set off to find fresh solutions to the perilous split between their peoples - and encounter new hazards both human and uncanny. The farmers and riverfolk have long distrusted the power of the mysterious and aloof Lakewalkers, even though they depend on them for protection from the evil malices. The proud Lakewalkers, meanwhile, have exiled Dag after learning of his marriage to Fawn, the first outsider to be bound to a Lakewalker in their magical way. But as Dag's natural Lakewalker ability to manipulate "ground energy" begins to develop in dangerous directions, he and Fawn realize that big changes are ahead.


What the Critics Say

"Nebula and Hugo�winner Bujold explores culture clashes in this compelling third segment of the Sharing Knife series. Bujold excels at creating interesting and sympathetic characters, and this story will satisfy readers who enjoy romance as much as adventure." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better and better

This is an example of a series that, unlike many, keeps getting better with each book. I've been a long-time fan of Bujold, and I admire her ability to build entirely original (and different) worlds.

She has widened the world of these novels significantly in the 3rd volume, and introduced some delightful new characters. This was a fast-paced, intriguing story that I thoroughly enjoyed.
Read full review

- BelleBooks

The quality keeps coming

The third installment to a great story. The quality of the writing and narration continues. The fantasy world is expanding and more insights are explained. If you liked for the first two this is more of the same.
Read full review

- Neale Blackwood

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-19-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.