The Sacrifice : The Fey

  • by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • Narrated by David DeSantos
  • Series: The Fey
  • 26 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Legendary for their bloodlust, sorcery, and fierce, dark beauty, the Fey have swept across three continents and never face defeat. But now, in defiance of their Black King, the warrior-prince Rugar and his fearless daughter, Jewel, have marshaled an invasion farce to meet its ultimate challenge: Blue Isle, glistening beyond impregnable rocks and raging waters.
A people of simplicity and faith, untainted by intrigue, enchantment, or war, the Blue Islanders have never before been invaded. But their young prince, Nicholas, dreams of battle and will rally his countrymen against the onslaught of the Fey, even as the Islanders discover a deadly, undreamed-of power of their own. So begins a conflict that must ultimately destroy one race or the other - or both.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great new series

I have seen reviews from 1 to 4-5 on the first episode of this series, The Sacrifice. First of all you have to be a sci-fi fantasy person to really appreciate this type of book. I personally enjoyed The Sacrifice and just downloaded the second book in the series.

Most series like this in the past have not been available traditionally from places like Audible. Authors of this genre have been available through podcast sites, their own websites or self published. Believe me there are some great authors of this genre out there that do not have the ability to get on Audible.

I think that by Audible giving away the first episode was brilliant. I never heard of this author until now. Result is now I will download all 5 episodes. I hope Audible will allow more authors of this type to get their books on this site for exposure.

Too bad the people who left the bad reviews. They downloaded the book because it was free, it was not the genre the normally read and therefore the bad reviews. For readers who like this genre you will be happy and satisfied.
Read full review

- Anthony Cascella

Bizarre but intriguing

At first I found this book so strange that I had a hard time getting into it, and even trying to figure out what it's all about. The writer has an interesting way of presenting the story by showing both sides of a conflict (war) from the perspective of all the characters (3rd person omniscient), so that the reader begans to care for and appreciate both sides of the conflict. Finally, you get so caught up in the characters that you're definitely guessing as to what they could possibly come up with next and it's difficult to take sides.... It wasn't so good that I want to immediately purchase the next book and start reading it today, but,I will, eventually, get around to reading the rest of the series.
Read full review

- Dana

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-22-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios