The Rising : Alchemy Wars

  • by Ian Tregillis
  • Narrated by Chris Kayser
  • Series: Alchemy Wars
  • 15 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war.
Jax, a rogue Clakker, has wreaked havoc upon the Clockmakers' Guild by destroying the Grand Forge. Reborn in the flames, he must begin his life as a free Clakker, but liberation proves its own burden.
Berenice, formerly the legendary spymaster of New France, mastermind behind her nation's attempts to undermine the Dutch Hegemony, has been banished from her homeland and captured by the Clockmakers Guild's draconian secret police force.
Meanwhile, Captain Hugo Longchamp is faced with rallying the beleaguered and untested defenders of Marseilles-in-the-West for the inevitable onslaught from the Brasswork Throne and its army of mechanical soldiers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

too much fighting

Continues the story begun to such good effect in The Mechanical, but I gave it only three stars (versus five for The Mechanical) because there was just too much fighting. Two things saved it for me: first, that the battle chapters alternated with other scenes taking place elsewhere. Second, that the main character in the battle scenes, Captain Longchamp, was highly likeable and the best cusser I have ever encountered in literature. I mean that in the best possible way! if you don't believe me, check out the book's page on Goodreads, go to the quotes section, and read a few of them. Be sure you don't have any liquid in your mouth at the time or you may do a spit-take from laughter.
Read full review

- Julie W. Capell

A Decent Mid-Trilogy

Tregillis balances imagery, action and insight well. He’s a bit heavy on the foul language, though. Kayser is good with distinct voices and tone. He’s a bit slow, though, and mispronounces a few words repeatedly.
Read full review

- Mark Patterson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-01-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio