Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Tarzan had renounced his right to the woman he loved, and civilization held no pleasure for him. After a brief and harrowing period among men, he turned back to the African jungle where he had grown to manhood. It was there he first heard of Opar, the city of gold, left over from fabled Atlantis. It was a city of hideous men - and of beautiful, savage women, over whom reigned La, high priestess of the Flaming God. Its altars were stained with the blood of many sacrifices. Unheeding of the dangers, Tarzan led a band of savage warriors toward the ancient crypts and the more ancient evil of Opar.
(P)1999 by Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lady M on 12-04-13

Another Great Tale of Tarzan of the Apes!

"The Return of Tarzan" is the second in his series of books about the title character Tarzan, with the first book edition published in 1915. The novel picks up where Tarzan of the Apes left off, and is equally exciting.

In "The Return of Tarzan", Tarzan learns that he is the true Lord Greystoke, but does not claim his title, because of his love for Jane, who has promised to wed Tarzan's cousin William Cecil Clayton. Clayton inherited the title, Lord Greystoke, when Tarzan's mother and father were declared dead. If Tarzan took his rightful place as Lord Greystoke, it would leave Clayton penniless, and Jane would suffer without money--so Tarzan walks away.

Disappointment in love, Tarzan returns to the jungle where he has many strange adventures--even before Tarzan reaches his jungle home, events take him to places he never knew existed...there's ocean cruises, Paris, desert adventures, spying for the French Secret Service, beautiful women, lost cities. etc., etc.

Tarzan makes an enemy of the powerful Russian, Nikolas Rokoff, who dogs his trail plotting and planning his demise. The action-packed gripping scenes and nasty villains are easily visualized due to Burrough's wonderful storytelling, and Robert Whitfield's great performance. The many twists and turns the story takes keep you riveted, unable to stop listening.

I've thoroughly enjoyed books 1 & 2 and highly recommend them. They really should be read in sequence.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Nelson on 07-17-09

Amazing Book

Great narration of an even more incredible book.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Myk on 07-28-16

Massively racist story told very well

It's getting really hard to enjoy the Tarzan novels in this day and age. The absurdly oblivious racism just drips through the speakers. There's little in interesting plot to redeem it, either. A highly improbable sequence of coincidences and unbelievable good fortune.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc