The Quest : Dark Paladin

  • by Vasily Mahanenko
  • Narrated by Kevin Kraft
  • Series: Dark Paladin
  • 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Surviving in a tough situation is not always the best option; sometimes dying is much better than staying alive. The Academy showed Paladin Yaropolk what makes the world go round: pragmatism and personal gain. Restart was set in motion, but it only makes players more frantic. Now everyone plays only for themselves. Yaropolk faces the same dilemma: be like all of them, or keep his humanity and be known as an odd duck. Because there is only one rule in this world: kill or be killed....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


i struggle to understand this steaming pile in need of an editor. mahanenko's shaman series is quite good, and i also have enjoyed his sci-fi lit rpg. this series is just odd. the narrator is not very good. the story is twisty...but not in an "oceans 11" way...more in a "spin the wheel and pick your plot point" kind of way. the final scenes were bizarre and almost redeemed the book, but didnt quite make it. the main character is a misogynistic pig w h o has embraced the dark side without really giving us much insight except for convenience. he has all the character development of a soggy graham cracker. i doubt that i will read any more in this series, and it has left such an icky taste in my mouth im not sure ill read anything else by mahanenko either.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Decent storyline

I bought these books because I really want to support Vasily. His shaman books are freaking awesome. These books are good but they could be better with a different narrator. He's really needs to slow down and be better with his inflection, and pauses in each sentence. I feel he is rushing the entire time and I am not sure why. Maybe he is trying to pump out as many book narrations as he can in a year. Vasily, you're still one of my favorite writers, keep em brotha!
Read full review

- hatmadley

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-22-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio