Regular price: $20.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Brian Staveley's The Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and George R. R. Martin.
The conspiracy to destroy the ruling family of the Annurian Empire is far from over.
Having learned the identity of her father's assassin, Adare flees the Dawn Palace in search of allies to challenge the coup against her family. Few trust her, but when she is believed to be touched by Intarra, patron goddess of the empire, the people rally to help her retake the capital city. As armies prepare to clash, the threat of invasion from barbarian hordes compels the rival forces to unite against their common enemy.
Unknown to Adare, her brother Valyn, renegade member of the empire's most elite fighting force, has allied with the invading nomads. The terrible choices each of them has made may make war between them inevitable.
Between Valyn and Adare is their brother Kaden, rightful heir to the Unhewn Throne, who has infiltrated the Annurian capital with the help of two strange companions. The knowledge they possess of the secret history that shapes these events could save Annur or destroy it.
©2014 Brian Staveley (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Mike on 02-09-15

I'm trying really hard to like this series.

I suffered my way through "The Emperors Blades" thinking that it may just be needed to set the story line. As far as I can tell, Brian Staveley is an excellent writer, he is however, really bad at his character continuity. Without giving away the story line, it just seems like the main characters have spent years learning a specific set of skills, from the very best instructors in the world, only to make the wrong choice at every given opportunity. They consistently go against advice from people they admit are more knowledgeable in the specific area in which they are going to perform. It NEVER works out for them. It might be written that way to enhance the drama of the story, but it just doesn't make sense. The characters are either hopelessly inept, or just downright confused.

The characters themselves seem to be well developed and worth reading about, I just wish that the story wasn't so easy to predict at every turning point.

Read More Hide me

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Tom Bloodworth on 01-18-15

Decent

The writing was technically great. The narrator was fantastic as always. Having said that, the characters are too stupid. Of course, your protagonists have to be flawed and make some mistakes, but the stupidity he writes into some of the decision-making, especially the female lead, shatters the suspension of disbelief.

Read More Hide me

18 of 20 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Ross on 05-03-16

The first book had some promise...

Would you try another book written by Brian Staveley or narrated by Simon Vance?

I did and wasn't satisfied, so returned it. I think we live in an age where it is fashionable to make conflicted heroes/heroines/villains... Unfortunately most authors mistake conflicted, for contradictory or contrary. You end up with a selection of character paths that make no sense. Brian Staveley produces teen fantasy fiction, he's not George Orwell.

What was most disappointing about Brian Staveley’s story?

George Martin, Anthony Ryan, Patrick Rothfuss and Joe Abercrombie (Barring his Shattered Sea trilogy dross) handle conflicted and complex character building within well structured plots. Staveley is simply not as good as these guys and his plot direction seems to be built on a scene by scene foundation rather than an overarching tale, that is logically fitted together.

What does Simon Vance bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Simon Vance is the only constantly good thing in these books. Great narrator.

Was The Providence of Fire worth the listening time?

No. It repeatedly helped me fall asleep at night time, on the train... Anywhere I decided to stick it on really.

Any additional comments?

Some teens might enjoy this tale, but this really is just another example of poor plotting and character creation. Style over substance stuff really. At the end of day, i wish i could say that there was even a message in this slick slop, but there isn't...

Read More Hide me

18 of 20 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By P. Harvey-Field on 04-28-16

Good story but....

The beginning and the end were good but the endless battle in between just went on and on and on, becoming so confusing I didn't know who was fighting who. You get the idea. But, having said that it still held my interest enough to want to know what happens in the third book. Brilliant narrator though. I would definitely look for more audio books read by him.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Nihal Albuquerque on 03-21-17

good story ,drags alot

the storyline dragged on a bit but the ending is good. there alot happening which is hard to keep track. this book is more on the politics of the Empire .

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By SlateyTV on 03-21-17

Enthralling story and perfect performance

This is a story that has kept me interested all the way through. I bought the next book three hours before finishing this one because I didn't want to miss a beat waiting for the download to complete.

Another perfect narration by Simon Vance. I can see why he would have won awards for reading.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews