The Plains of Passage : Earth's Children

  • by Jean M. Auel
  • Narrated by Sandra Burr
  • Series: Earth's Children
  • 32 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In The Plains of Passage, orphaned Ayla and wandering Jondalar search for a place on Earth they can call home Ayla and Jondalar set out on horseback across the windswept grasslands of Ice Age Europe. To the hunter gatherers of their world - who have never seen tame animals - Ayla and Jondalar appear enigmatic and frightening.The mystery surrounding the woman, who speaks with a strange accent and talks to animals with their own sounds, is heightened by her control of a large, menacing wolf. The tall, yellow-haired man who rides by her side is also held in awe, not only for the magnificent stallion he commands, but for his skill as an artificer of stone tools, and for the new weapon he devises that makes hunting less perilous.In the course of their cross-continental odyssey, Ayla and Jondalar encounter both savage enemies and brave friends. Together they learn that the vast and unkown world can be difficult and dangerous, but breathtakingly beautiful and enlightening as well.


What the Critics Say

"The long-awaited fourth installment of the Earth's Children series is as warm and inviting as its campfire milieu." (Publishers Weekly)
"Pure entertainment at its sublime, wholly exhilarating, best." (Los Angeles Times)
"Thrilling....This magical book is rich in details of all kinds....but it it the depth of the characters' emotional lives....that gives the novel such a stranglehold." (Cosmopolitan)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Don't waste your time

It seems you get decreasing returns with this series. "The Clan of the Cave Bear" was great fun, "Valley of the Horses" was pretty good fun, and "The Mammoth Hunters" was fun enough to not make you want a refund of what you paid for it. "The Plains of Passage," has left the realm of fun and headed straight into Yawnsville. It's dreadfully boring, with far too many overwrought sex scenes and descriptions of native fauna and flora. If you have been caught up into the series, as I was, and now find you have to keep going, as I did, do yourself a favor and skip past "Plains of Passage" straight to "The Shelters of Stone." You won't be missing anything of any importance if you do so.
Read full review

- Magritter

Part IV of a great read

I read the first book in this series shortly after it first came out and was captivated by the story and the setting. Auel had an excellent idea for a story and did a bang up job of telling it. The next four books in this series I grabbed as soon as they were released. When these books became available as audio books on cassette I bought them and listened to them again and again over the years. Now I have the entire series again through Audible. Good investment in money and great investment in time. Personally I think Sandra Burr does a good job with the series. My only complaint is that it has been 31 years since the first book in the series came out and Auel said at that time it would be a six book series. For anyone that's interested book 6 'Land of Painted Caves' will finally be released in book stores on March 29, 2011. I hope Audible makes it available then as well I've been waiting on for 31 years. Actually the five books of this series that have already been published read more like one exceptionally long book. I know a lot of people don???t care for the detail that Auel goes into but I like it. I will admit that this book does get a little slow at times, but not bad.
Read full review

- Thomas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-09-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio