The Oversight : The Oversight Trilogy

  • by Charlie Fletcher
  • Narrated by Simon Prebble
  • Series: The Oversight Trilogy
  • 14 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"The end always happens faster than you think."
Once there were hundreds of members of the Oversight, the brave souls who guard the borders between the mundane and the magic. Now there are only five.
When a vagabond brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, she could answer their hopes for new recruit, or she could be the instrument of their downfall.


What the Critics Say

"Fletcher's Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre wit. There's a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest mis-step." (Frances Hardinge on The Oversight)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Oversight offers a fascinating and complex wo

Any additional comments?

The tale is set in a Dickenson type London, and the writing is mesmerizing. Fletcher brings the world and characters to life using multiple perspectives. The story is rich in details, laced in magic and dark uncertainty.
The Oversight stands for the Free Company for the Regulation and Oversight of Recondite Exigency and Supernatural Lore. At one time, the Oversight was a powerful group numbering in the hundreds whose sole purpose was to keep the streets of London safe. A secret order that regulates and contains magic. Now, the membership has been reduced to five. These five make up the Hand, and without them, the Oversight would cease to exist allowing things to go unchecked. They are Sarah, Cook, Mr. Sharp, Hodge and the Smith. Sounds exciting right? I love the set up and secret agency.
Fletcher brilliantly takes us from the dangerous streets of London to a traveling Carney. Danger, fate, unknown factors and unique characters quickly draw us into each scene and I found myself caught up in everything from the sights to battling their enemies. While the pacing was slow in the beginning, the twists and unknown factor of Lucy Harbor, a girl who could end them or strengthen them kept me listening into the wee hours.
Each of the characters is unique, quirky and thoroughly fleshed out with just enough mystery to ensnare the reader. When Lucy is first introduced to the Oversight she realizes something is amiss. When Lucy touches things, she has visions, but until she meets Sarah, she believed herself to be crazy. Sarah who heads the Oversight believes that Lucy is a Glint, like herself. Lucy’s arrival sets of a series of events and raises questions as we are thrust into a tale. I found the premise utterly riveting.
There is a threat that exists in the shadows, one that can tip the scales spilling havoc into the world around us. It is this knowledge that gives the tale a suspenseful, dark feel even as the pace meanders. Despite intense spurts and than slower pacing I loved all of the details, suspense and unknowing of it all. The imagery was so impressive.

Read full review

- kimbacaffeinate "@kimbacaffeinate"

Fantastic start to a fantasy series

This is fantasy as good as it gets. The writing and voice of the piece are meant to be 1800's English, the story starts around the start of Queen Victoria's reign. The style and tone are somewhat akin to Susanna Clarke in Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. While I loved that story, the cast here is richer and more diverse and so is the language.

The worldbuilding and magic systems are very elegant, using familiar myths and legends in interesting ways and weaving them all together with interesting tidbits of actual social history.

The last story that captivated me this much was Game of Thrones, the book not the tv show. This is obviously a shorter story that moves at a faster pace, its nice because it deals with some difficult subjects without becoming hopelessly sad and depressing.

Simon Prebble's performance is great, he is always great. Couldn't recommend it more highly
Read full review

- jessica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio