The Obelisk Gate : The Broken Earth

  • by N. K. Jemisin
  • Narrated by Robin Miles
  • Series: The Broken Earth
  • 13 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is the way the world ends, for the last time.
The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.
Essun - once Damaya, once Syenite, now avenger - has found shelter, but not her daughter. Instead there is Alabaster Tenring, destroyer of the world, with a request. But if Essun does what he asks, it would seal the fate of the Stillness forever.
Far away, her daughter Nassun is growing in power - and her choices will break the world.


What the Critics Say

"Exceptional." (Library Journal)
"Robin Miles continues as narrator, and the large cast of characters allows her to draw on her vast store of accents. Her narration is intimate and engaged, and she enriches the complicated relationships.... Miles draws out the emotions - sometimes volatile, sometimes seething beneath the surface--as the complexities of this postapocalyptic world unfold." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellence - A rare gem

If you could sum up The Obelisk Gate in three words, what would they be?

This books continues the story lines from book one. The world is going through another season but this one will last thousands of years with the resulting planet being inhabitable. But the people do not accept this or understand it. It seams that the extinction of the human race is eminent but Alabaster has been to the mountain top and returns (broken and half-dead himself) to tell the only person who can finish what he started to heal the Earth. Tons of questions are answered. Revelations are realized. Nassun comes of age in this madness. Essun grows in her craft, realizes her potential and that she can't do it alone.

It is nothing like N.K. Jemisin's other series which is nothing short of amazing because world building is hard and that is exactly what the writer does here. Among horrifying post-apocalyptic events, dogmatic guardians who believe their evil is good, the mysterious absence and presence of celestial staples we continue to learn about the relationships of the characters, their histories as to how they came to be who they are and one I didn't see coming...Father Earth.

What did you like best about this story?

This books has something for fans of Octavia Butler, Jules Verne, world ending scenarios, dysfunctional families and of course...N. K. Jemisin.

Which character – as performed by Robin Miles – was your favorite?

Alabaster (sp?). I think Robin did an excellent job capturing his unique personality and quirks.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The constant struggle for acceptance for who a person is as a human being.

Any additional comments?

This is the third world built by this author. I don't know many who can do this. I am not surprised that the author won a Hugo for this series.

Read full review

- S. Hayes "I am an avid reader and believe in good literature. All of my reviews aim to separate the good from the trash."

Loving and recommending frequently

Still living this amazing trilogy from N K Jemisin. The characters are so real and 3 dimensional, the story is fascinating–I really never want to be not reading this book–and the metaphor to our own world makes the reading a thoughtful experience. obelisk gate also somehow contains even more reveals and surprises even though it essentially picks up just where broken earth left off. I can't wait for the final installment.
Read full review

- Brian Gray

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-16-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio