The New Watch : Watch

  • by Sergei Lukyanenko, Andrew Bromfield (translator)
  • Narrated by Paul Michael
  • Series: Watch
  • 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is the next heart-stopping chapter in the Night Watch series.
Walking the streets of our cities are the Others. These men and women have access to the Twilight, a shadowy parallel world of magical power that exists alongside our own. Each has sworn allegiance to one side, fighting for the Light, or the Darkness. But now, beyond the continuing struggle comes a peril that threatens their very world....
At Moscow airport, Higher Light Magician Anton Gorodetsky overhears a child screaming that a plane is about to crash. He discovers that the child is a prophet: an Other with the gift of foretelling the future. When the catastrophe is averted, Gorodetsky senses a disruption in the natural order, one that is confirmed by the arrival of a dark and terrifying predator. From the Night Watch headquarters Gorodetsky travels to London, to Taiwan and across Russia in search of clues, unearthing as he goes a series of increasingly cataclysmic prophecies. He soon realises that what is at stake is the existence of the Twilight itself - and that only he will be able to save it.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A must for fans of the Night Watch series

This is the 5th book in the night watch series. If you are a fan you definitely want to spend a credit on this one. While not as epic in scope as the previous books, it is a solid read that is thoroughly enjoyable.

You can really tell the difference that this is a Russian author as opposed to the British and American authors I normally read. The book and series is quite dark in places, often with a strong streak of nihilism included. The endings in this series are usually not "happy" but are satisfying.

The world and characters are well developed to the point you almost feel like if you were in Russia you might run into them. The stories in this series are compared to chess matches between the higher powers with the protagonist trying to find his way through and survive. He never really knows what is going on for certain until the endgame. I really like that level of mystery.

The narrarator does a great job, but moves between Russian accents in conversation and a standard almost monotone English even though all the characters are Russian. This takes a bit of getting used to and leads to adding and dropping of accents at times. It doesn't impact the performance but it was noticable to me.

This novel could be read stand-alone but the reader will enjoy it much more and get a fuller experience by listening to the books in order. This one is definitely worth spending a credit on and I hope the author keeps the series going.

Read full review

- Cliff

Get this guy a glass of water

Would’ve been 5 stars all around but the sounds of the narrator’s mouth opening, moving and swallowing is driving me up the wall. Otherwise very captivating narration, excellent story.
Read full review

- Jake

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-18-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios