The Native Star : Veneticas Americana

  • by M. K. Hobson
  • Narrated by Suehyla El-Attar
  • Series: Veneticas Americana
  • 13 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson's captivating take on the wild, wild West.
The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession - and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.
Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time - and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine - in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all: the magic of the human heart.

More

What the Critics Say

"Clever and original, Hobson's splendid debut… will leave readers eagerly awaiting the sequel." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A bold, inventive, well-written first novel

As a previous reviewer, noted, the first half of this novel was more interesting than the second half which felt a bit manipulated to keep the suspense alive. It felt like an old Saturday matinee with each cliff-hanger miraculously topping the previous one. But the novelist's world of magic is inventive and interesting, reminding me more than a bit of the Harry Potter stories. I would recommend this novel and am looking forward to reading the next in the series.
I found the narrator to be interesting and she made it easy to differentiate the characters which is their number one goal in my estimation. As with most female readers, her male characters weren't as realistic as the female characters, but they were all distinguishable from one another.
Read full review

- Zooomer

Native Please Start Up

Native Star turned out to be a worthy listen. It took about a third of the book to really hook me though. I didn't like the female protagonist very much. She came thru as a brat without reason. Stanton, her male counterpart becomes interesting in the second half of the book. Because the narrator has a higher pitched voice I found some of her characters difficult to understand. That said, I am somewhat hearing impaired.

I will definitely listen to the sequel. This series has promise
Read full review

- Ellen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-16-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios