The Motive for Massacre : The Kinless Trilogy

  • by Chris Philbrook
  • Narrated by Kevin T. Collins
  • Series: The Kinless Trilogy
  • 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Malwynn and his twin sister, Umaryn, experienced true horror when their hometown of New Picknell was razed to the ground in the first act of war by a Necromancer from The Amaranth Empire. They took their thirst for vengeance north across the border, and, after killing both the innocent and the guilty alike, they discovered a horrible truth. The Empire had not ordered the strike. The Necromancer had been paid.
Book two in The Kinless Trilogy follows the Everwalk twins in the capital city of Varrland as they attempt to follow the clues they wrung from the corpse of Omniri Decadra. The looming war between Varrland and the Empire races them as they attempt to find out who wanted their family and the entire town destroyed - and why. The Church, the Guild, and the government all seem to have stakes in what the twins do, and it becomes very hard to tell who, if anyone, is on their side.
Sometimes the truth is far, far worse than a lie, and your friends are more threatening than your enemies. But will that stop the twins from falling in love when they are most vulnerable?
Join Malwynn and Umaryn as they attempt to right the wrongs they've suffered once again, no matter the cost.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Whole New World

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, this has a good story that not only opens a whole new universe but it also opens up new powers.

Have you listened to any of Kevin T. Collins’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This is my second Kevin T. Collins book, and so far I am enjoying his performance.

Read full review

- David

don’t hesitate to continue on to book two

The twins continue their search for the person responsible for their town’s massacre.  Now in the large city of Dauris, their hunger for revenge is tempered by basic comfort and familiarity.  Umaryn’s great skill in The Way gets her an invitation to join the prestigious Guild.  Malwynn falls in love with a beautiful and capable military woman.  Should they now throw away what could turn into rewarding careers and happiness for vengeance?  An attack on their lives makes the decision for them.

Book two continues right where book one left off, except now they are back in Varland.  The difference is that in the Empire, they knew everyone was an enemy, here it is not so clear.  The mystery of their parents and their families is somewhat revealed, though each new answer raises as many questions.

Malwynn has developed his skills as a necromancer, which makes him extremely powerful, but also alienates him from his fellow Varlanders.  There is also the danger of being consumed by his own power as many necromancers are in the Empire.  New friends and enemies come and go as the plot evolves.

Now that the reader is committed to the story, book two is more interesting in that more of the mysteries evolve.  There is a developing curiosity about how all of this happened and that it is somehow interwoven, their parents, the attack, even the great plague that destroyed most people 300 years ago.

Book two is also performed by Kevin Collins.  His voice is pleasant and his character voices are easily discerned.  His reading style is to dramatize every sentence which can be distracting, but by now the listener is used to his delivery.  The voices of the villains are the most developed and compelling.  Overall a good performance.

You’ve enjoyed book one, don’t hesitate to continue on to book two.  It is more interesting and enough of the mysteries are revealed to have you looking forward to book three.  Zombies, wizards, hidden keys and spirits, what else is there to say.

Audiobook was purchased for review by ABR.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]
Read full review

- AudioBook Reviewer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios