The Moonstone

  • by Wilkie Collins
  • Narrated by Walter Covell, cast
  • 19 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The story involves a huge diamond, the moonstone, originally stolen from an Indian shrine. The gem is given to an English girl on her 18th birthday but disappears that same night. What follows is a spellbinding mystery that to this day has the power to draw the listener into its world of danger, suspense, and surprise.


Audible Editor Reviews

At her 18th birthday party, Rachel Verinder shows off the valuable Indian diamond that she inherited from her uncle. That night, it’s taken from her room. Thus begins the mystery at the heart of Wilkie Collins’ 1868 novel, The Moonstone.
As the listener learns, Rachel’s diamond is wanted by three Hindu priests who have sworn to recover the religious artifact. Rachel’s love interest, Franklin Blake, searches for the gem. The possible suspects include three Indian jugglers at the party and a maid who mysteriously drowned herself shortly afterwards.
Given a measured reading by Walter Covell in an English accent, Collins’ mystery story is chock full of intriguing characters and unexpected turns that lead to a surprising resolution.


What the Critics Say

"The first, the longest, and the best of modern English detective novels." (T.S. Eliot)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I grew up reading English literature classics. I used to get simplified versions of these from the British counsel when I was in my teens. Now that I am an adult, I have rediscovered all my favorites, but now listening to the originals on audible. This is my favorite of Wilkie Collins books.
Read full review

- Lisa

most enjoyable

I thoroughly enjoyed "The Woman in White", but I liked this one even better. Easier to get into, and the first narrator was really excellent. I was surprised at how funny and charming it was. Anyone who likes Victorian- type stories will love this book.
Read full review

- Jen Terry

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2006
  • Publisher: Jimcin Recordings