Regular price: $26.64

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $26.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Following an accident that almost cost him his life, Howard Falcon was not so much saved as he was converted, through the use of prosthetics, into something faster, stronger and smarter...but also slightly less human and more machine than he was. And with this change came an opportunity - that of piloting a mission into Jupiter's atmosphere and ultimately of making first contact with the life forms he discovers there.
Picking up the threads of humanity versus artificial intelligence and machines, and of encounters with the alien, this collaborative novel between two superb writers is a sequel to Howard Falcon's adventures.
A proper science fiction adventure, this is perfect for fans of Golden Age SF as well as the modern SF listener.
Read by Peter Kenny.
©2016 Stephen Baxter & Dendrocopos Limited (P)2016 Orion Publishing Group
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Andrew on 09-17-16

Dull and Plodding

I can't find anything good to say about this. I'm a great Reynolds fan and have read or listened to all of his other work, so I listened to this in a state of disbelief. To continue Clarke's story with a 50 year old view of what technology might be like on the future is puzzling, as it fails to take into account the technology that we take for granted now. OK, this may be an alternative reality, but it is an extraordinarily tedious one.
I know that Peter Kenny is not everyone's cup of tea, but I am quite a fan of his - normally. But on this occasion his breathless delivery is reminiscent of Nicholas Parsons much parodied introduction to Just A Minute. (Apologies to non-British readers who won't have any idea of who Nicholas Parsons is.)
I am very disappointed with this book, it fails on every level: 2 dimensional characters, sleep inducing pace, poor delivery and a tired plot development that makes it impossible to suspend disbelief.
The only reason I gave this 2 stars rather than 1 is because of my respect for Clarke, Reynolds and Kenny.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful


By Patrick on 07-09-16

Tedious, goes nowhere very slowly

Oh dear, during chaper 9 I gave up for the last time; the story didn't grip or appeal and i lost the will to keep on listening.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Darren Sowerby on 11-29-16

A thinking read

Enjoyed the story but found I lost focus with the interludes to the 1960's. Very interesting and researched concepts to keep you hooked.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Leonie on 09-23-16

Well performed. Good story

Was a little hard to get into at first because it skips through time pretty quick, but it makes sense as you progress further. Love Reynolds and had read my first Baxter book prior to this.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews