The Lore of the Evermen : Evermen Saga

  • by James Maxwell
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Evermen Saga
  • 13 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The fourth book in the Evermen Saga.
The Lord of the Night is coming. The future of civilization is at stake.
Miro, high lord of Altura, is in the Imperial capital to prepare the Empire for the onslaught. He knows his homeland lies directly in the enemy's path but struggles to form the alliances he needs.
As the high lords bicker, Ella seeks the help of the newly crowned emperor, Killian. But, amid the growing tensions, their responsibilities drive them apart and, as emperor, Killian can't be seen to favor Ella's homeland.
Against a backdrop of old hurts, guilty secrets, and shaky new allegiances, people of all nations and abilities must learn to trust one another again, and form a united front against a powerful enemy intent on destroying them once and for all.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Thoroughly enjoyable but a little too convenient

I've now finished listening to this series and I enjoyed the entire thing. Simon Vance, as always, makes this book come alive and choosing him as a reader saved it, because the story itself sort of falls together too easily -- too many last minute saves, narrow escapes, etc. etc. The term dues ex machina definitely comes to mind.

So, I would unhesitatingly suggest this as an enjoyable tale, but at same time, warn people that they shouldn't expect anything deep or terribly moving from the text itself. This is a real shame because some of the premises, like the nature of gods, are very interesting and could have been the subject of much deeper inquiry. As it is, it is a fun and enjoyable bit of fluff, great for whiling the miles away, and certainly not a source of frustration. But do realize, it is Simon Vance's skill as a reader, that saves this book from being entirely skippable.
Read full review

- odin

Everything I've come to expect from a fantasy saga

... and that's saying something for a 4 book saga. Interesting characters, court intrigue, diabolical villains, apocalyptic battles, star-crossed lovers and superb narration.
Read full review

- Sailfish

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-26-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio