The Liberation : Alchemy Wars

  • by Ian Tregillis
  • Narrated by Chris Kayser
  • Series: Alchemy Wars
  • 14 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

I am the mechanical they named Jax.
My kind was built to serve humankind, duty-bound to fulfill their every whim.
But now our bonds are breaking, and my brothers and sisters are awakening.
Our time has come. A new age is dawning.
Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the third and final novel in a stunning series of revolution by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.


What the Critics Say

"Brilliantly imagined and beautifully written, Tregillis has created a perfect end to his series, filled with heroism and horror all the way to the finish." (Christopher Farnsworth, author of Blood Oath)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent finale to an epic series

I fell hard for the writing of Ian Tregillis with Bitter Seeds, the first book in the Milkweed Tryptich, so when The Mechanical (the first book in the Alchemy Wars series) came out, my expectations were high. And met, thoroughly. Tregillis does a remarkable job blending alternate history, science fiction, dark fantasy & steampunk into his own unique form of genre. I would put Ian Tregillis in the same high tier as Paolo Bacigalupi for unique, trailblazing fiction.

The Liberation is a wonderful conclusion to the series; my only regret is that it's over. And I'm glad the publisher stayed with Kris Kayser as narrator throughout the series. He was fantastic in his own right, but anyone who can repeatedly say "The Sacred Guild of Horologists and Alchemists" multiple times throughout the series, so succinctly, as well as emulate mechanical characters in such a persuasive way that we can distinguish one from another...well, he deserves an Audie! Great combination of author and narrator.
Read full review

- Mark

Feeling a little disappointed

I felt like this was the weakest book in the series and that the author forgot a little bit who the characters were between books because the characters didn't feel consistent.
Read full review

- Bradley Cook

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-06-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio