Regular price: $41.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $41.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Imagine being alone in the world, one of only a handful to survive a global pandemic. Not only do you struggle to find food, water, and shelter but you also deal with the sadness and losing everyone you know and everything you have.
Fourteen-year-old Greg Dixon is living that nightmare. Attending boarding school outside of Boston, he is separated from his family when a pandemic strikes. His classmates and teachers are dead, rotting in a dormitory-turned-morgue steps from his room. The nights are getting colder, and his food has run out. The last message from his father is to get away from the city and to meet at his grandparents' town in remote New Hampshire. Knowing the impending New England winter could be the final nail in his coffin, Greg packs what little food he can find and sets off on his 100-mile walk north with the unwavering belief that his family is alive and will join him.
As the fast-moving and deadly disease strips away family and friends, Greg's father, John, is trapped in South Carolina. Roadblocks, a panic-stricken population, and winter make it impossible for him to get to his son. John and his three brothers appear to be immune, but they are scattered across a locked-down United States, forced to wait for the end of humanity before travelling to the mountains of New Hampshire.
Spring arrives, and the Dixons make their way north to find young Greg. They meet others along the way, slowly forming the last tribe of humanity from the few people still alive in the Northeast.
©2015 Brad Manuel (P)2016 Podium Publishing
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews



Nominated: 2017 Audie Award for Best Male Narrator
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Andrew Pollack on 06-18-16

A perfect year in the post apocalypse.

This was one of the strangest books I've ever read or listened to. It's an answering argument to the survivalist guns and gore stores. The premise is the very common, post disease die-off, empty world situation. A few survivors are left. What do they have to do to make it?

Unlike every other book I've ever read in that genre, there are no roving bands of thugs, no armies of raping and pillaging hordes, no herds of brain dead contagious zombies.

You would think a book where nothing goes wrong would be boring -- and on one level you're right. There isn't really any great conflict and very little serious tension. Everything goes right and nearly all the decisions made are the right ones, the very few survivors represent all the needed skills to a level that seems almost ridiculously unlikely.

So... you'd discount this as not worth bothering with -- and you'd be wrong.

The book takes a fairly mature look at what could be accomplished if the conditions allowed. The author deliberately set up the type of plague, it's onset and symptoms, the rate of infection and fatality, all in such a way that the world would be left relatively empty but mostly intact, and used that setting to tell the story of adaptation in a far more mature way than most zombie or plague books ever get around to doing.

Worth a read, unless what you're looking for is zombies and gore -- then you'll be disappointed.

Read More Hide me

141 of 154 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By c_soul on 06-22-16

A unique & important addition to the genre!

Any additional comments?

Fans of Stephen King's The Stand and Justin Cronin's The Passage will definitely not want to miss this one. Those are my two favorite novels in this genre, and Brad Manuel's effort here follows very impressively in their footsteps.

As others have mentioned, an element that sets The Last Tribe apart from the aforementioned tomes is that there are no evil hordes (whether undead or living).

The great conflict for our group of protagonists is the brutal reality of survival - pure and simple. However, some of the previous reviews seemed to suggest that there weren't any bad people in the story, but that certainly wasn't the case. It's just that they weren't over the top embodiments of evil as is so often the case - they were much more realistic characters. Some were truly bad. Others were mostly just responding to their personal insecurities and fears. Very real and refreshing!

The other key element that sets The Last Tribe apart is that it's a predominantly positive view of how regular people would respond in such an event. And it's this aspect that I think makes it an incredibly intriguing and important addition to the genre. This is what really makes it an absolutely essential read/listen for any fan of the genre!

And it certainly should be a listen, as the great Scott Brick is very much in his element here. Just superb!

Read More Hide me

85 of 94 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By mr on 10-24-16

Dullest most mundane 'post apocalypse' ever?

Would you try another book written by Brad Manuel or narrated by Scott Brick?

Scott Brick is brilliant and the way that he narrates this brain numbing festival of banality is testament to his talent and skill. I will never knowingly listen to anything Brad Manuel writes again.

What will your next listen be?

A Larry Mc Murtry book i have lined up in my wishlist.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The scene when she found the dog.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Last Tribe?

i would have cut a lot of the scenes when it seems like there will be some actual jeopardy and then very little actually happened? I was so desperate for some drama i actually started making up my own back stories and sequels where something interesting happened. Again and again Scott Brick tried to inject some tension, but then the promises of tension turned into a banal description of cooking tinned goods, or shopping for things like pots and pans.The dramatic efforts in N Y C and Boston were just THROWN AWAY! Some of the everyday stuff is nice and fun, but there has to be some kind of counterpoint to that.. I don't need Ultraviolence or gut churning action (though this did kinda promise that by its genre) just some kind of conflict that is drawn out and complex.

Any additional comments?

Does Audible have any kind of editorial policy? Or can anyone just chuck a dull book up here? Please ! Listen to 'Earth Abides' by George R Stewart instead; 'The Last Tribe' is like that book, but with the brain and heart scooped out of it.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Tom Ferguson on 10-07-16

A bit too.. nice

I was intrigued all they way through but by the end, disappointed at the lack of conflict and it all seemed a bit too nice. There was plenty of points throughout this story where we could have seen twists or anything to inject some thrill. All in all a good story, could have been better.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By michael on 09-23-16

really good read

this was a very good book. I enjoyed it a lot. As always Scott Brick was the right guy for the job and the story kept me hooked. Worth the 20 plus hrs and worth the money.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By DebB on 07-25-17

Be warned...this is AWFUL!

First up this is an awful book!
If you enjoy well written books with captivating storylines and great characters then DON'T buy this book.
I wish I had not been sucked in by the positive reviews because I feel I have completely wasted my credit on this rubbish...in fact it is so bad I am going to ask audible for my money back on it.

There is nothing redeeming about this book whatsoever...even the great Scott Brick cannot make this rubbish better.
It feels like it was badly written by an amateur or high school student, and is in desperate need of editing. Was this even edited at all?
Most of the time sentences had me rolling my eyes in frustration at how bad the writing was..I'm warning you now, it is atrocious.
It has hours and hours of pointless boring superfluous descriptions, non believable characters and storylines, awful dialogue...I'm halfway though and I cannot even finish it. It's one of the worst books I've ever listened to.

(By the way Brad Manuel, dogs have LEGS...not ARMS)

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc