Regular price: $41.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $41.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Imagine being alone in the world, one of only a handful to survive a global pandemic. Not only do you struggle to find food, water, and shelter but you also deal with the sadness and losing everyone you know and everything you have.
Fourteen-year-old Greg Dixon is living that nightmare. Attending boarding school outside of Boston, he is separated from his family when a pandemic strikes. His classmates and teachers are dead, rotting in a dormitory-turned-morgue steps from his room. The nights are getting colder, and his food has run out. The last message from his father is to get away from the city and to meet at his grandparents' town in remote New Hampshire. Knowing the impending New England winter could be the final nail in his coffin, Greg packs what little food he can find and sets off on his 100-mile walk north with the unwavering belief that his family is alive and will join him.
As the fast-moving and deadly disease strips away family and friends, Greg's father, John, is trapped in South Carolina. Roadblocks, a panic-stricken population, and winter make it impossible for him to get to his son. John and his three brothers appear to be immune, but they are scattered across a locked-down United States, forced to wait for the end of humanity before travelling to the mountains of New Hampshire.
Spring arrives, and the Dixons make their way north to find young Greg. They meet others along the way, slowly forming the last tribe of humanity from the few people still alive in the Northeast.
©2015 Brad Manuel (P)2016 Podium Publishing
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews



Nominated: 2017 Audie Award for Best Male Narrator
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Andrew Pollack on 06-18-16

A perfect year in the post apocalypse.

This was one of the strangest books I've ever read or listened to. It's an answering argument to the survivalist guns and gore stores. The premise is the very common, post disease die-off, empty world situation. A few survivors are left. What do they have to do to make it?

Unlike every other book I've ever read in that genre, there are no roving bands of thugs, no armies of raping and pillaging hordes, no herds of brain dead contagious zombies.

You would think a book where nothing goes wrong would be boring -- and on one level you're right. There isn't really any great conflict and very little serious tension. Everything goes right and nearly all the decisions made are the right ones, the very few survivors represent all the needed skills to a level that seems almost ridiculously unlikely.

So... you'd discount this as not worth bothering with -- and you'd be wrong.

The book takes a fairly mature look at what could be accomplished if the conditions allowed. The author deliberately set up the type of plague, it's onset and symptoms, the rate of infection and fatality, all in such a way that the world would be left relatively empty but mostly intact, and used that setting to tell the story of adaptation in a far more mature way than most zombie or plague books ever get around to doing.

Worth a read, unless what you're looking for is zombies and gore -- then you'll be disappointed.

Read More Hide me

207 of 224 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By CrookedSoul on 06-22-16

A unique & important addition to the genre!

Any additional comments?

Fans of Stephen King's The Stand and Justin Cronin's The Passage will definitely not want to miss this one. Those are my two favorite novels in this genre, and Brad Manuel's effort here follows very impressively in their footsteps.

As others have mentioned, an element that sets The Last Tribe apart from the aforementioned tomes is that there are no evil hordes (whether undead or living).

The great conflict for our group of protagonists is the brutal reality of survival - pure and simple. However, some of the previous reviews seemed to suggest that there weren't any bad people in the story, but that certainly wasn't the case. It's just that they weren't over the top embodiments of evil as is so often the case - they were much more realistic characters. Some were truly bad. Others were mostly just responding to their personal insecurities and fears. Very real and refreshing!

The other key element that sets The Last Tribe apart is that it's a predominantly positive view of how regular people would respond in such an event. And it's this aspect that I think makes it an incredibly intriguing and important addition to the genre. This is what really makes it an absolutely essential read/listen for any fan of the genre!

And it certainly should be a listen, as the great Scott Brick is very much in his element here. Just superb!

Read More Hide me

118 of 128 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By max on 07-04-16

I need more

I did read the reviews and listens to the preview then passed it by (big mistake) came back to it as I couldn't find anything to listen to. This is blooming fantastic! It's beyond fantastic, this story could actually happen (have you seen the news lately!?)

No spoilers get this. Best two days of Audio tension and drama I have had in a long time.

Please can you write another book. I need to know if they do that thing and get some trouble makers

Read More Hide me

17 of 19 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By fay on 10-25-16

Insipid Tripe.

If you're a fan of sickly sweet, feel good stories, this one's for you!

No baddies, no danger, no threat, no violence gore etc etc etc

Just awful. There's not an ounce of malice and everything works out beautifully EVERY DAMN TIME for this All American survivors group.

If grit is what you're after, avoid like the plague (the primary school, weak, dull plague featured in this book)

Read More Hide me

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By DebB on 07-25-17

Be warned...this is AWFUL!

First up this is an awful book!
If you enjoy well written books with captivating storylines and great characters then DON'T buy this book.
I wish I had not been sucked in by the positive reviews because I feel I have completely wasted my credit on this rubbish...in fact it is so bad I am going to ask audible for my money back on it.

There is nothing redeeming about this book whatsoever...even the great Scott Brick cannot make this rubbish better.
It feels like it was badly written by an amateur or high school student, and is in desperate need of editing. Was this even edited at all?
Most of the time sentences had me rolling my eyes in frustration at how bad the writing was..I'm warning you now, it is atrocious.
It has hours and hours of pointless boring superfluous descriptions, non believable characters and storylines, awful dialogue...I'm halfway though and I cannot even finish it. It's one of the worst books I've ever listened to.

(By the way Brad Manuel, dogs have LEGS...not ARMS)

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Alexandra Kennedy-Clark on 12-16-16

No antagonist

Other than the end of civilian nothing goes wrong, there's no challenge. Food miraculously appears just in time. People just happen to have the requisite skills, bad people have miraculous reversals of character. There are no twists, no faced paced page turning chances, no pathos. Where are the deaths of central characters from septicaemia, starvation, murder or misadventure? It's a nice realistic story but we've been spoiled by the Abacrombie's and R.R. Martin's of the world and this story just roles along from easy success to easy success. Sorry, does not cut it for me. I'm abandoning the book.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews