The Last Ship

  • by William Brinkley
  • Narrated by Christopher Lane
  • 29 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hailed "an extraordinary novel of men at war" (Washington Post), The Last Ship is the book that inspired the TNT mini series starring Eric Dane, Rhona Mitra, and Adam Baldwin, with Michael Bay as executive producer.
The unimaginable has happened: The world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the USS Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain - 152 men and 26 women - to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are the earth's last remaining survivors - and they've all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind?
This thrilling tale of post apocalyptic suspense is perfect for readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by DavidCrawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sailor Beware

This is one of the books in which I both loved and hated. The loved the premise of the book. However, at times the style of writing drove me to the point of going postal! Strangely, at other times I found it like a drug which left me wanting more. At times it felt like the author was using words for the sake of using words! At other times the descriptive nature of the language was like sweet music to my ears.

I couldn't help but think about the author. What sort of person was/is he? Did he really speak and think like this in real life? I bet he would be the life of a party. I imagine he could insult me in 15 different languages.

I would like you to imagine me saying this in the voice of Forrest Gump; “I’m not a smart man, but I know what…” it takes to finish this book. It takes commitment. It takes a certain type of mood. Perhaps a certain type of insanity because unless you like to examine every last thing in detail. If you are the type of person who goes out into the rain to try and count the rain drops then you will love this one!

My advice is simple, listen to the sample not once, not twice, but over and over again for at least an hour. If you can still stomach the style of writing then go for it! You will have what it takes! This is the title for you. It will certainly give you a good credit per hour ratio, which is very important if you have to watch your cash flow like me (cheap skate actually for me).

If you have any doubts about the style, then do yourself a favour and let this one pass. You will go mad in an attempt to make it to the end. Because, frankly the story is good enough for you to attempt it. If you buy it and don't make it through to the end you will hate yourself. If you do make it through to the end you will still probably ending up hating yourself. It will only be worse for you if you work in a industry in which you have to deal with people. I know my tolerance dropped sharply while listening to this one... If I have to tell one more person "have you tried turning it off and on again' I will hit them over the head with my keyboard while asking myself the question why did I spend 29 hours of my jam packed week listening to "The Last Ship"?

So you have been warned sailor!
Read full review

- The Zombie Specialist "The world's fastest fatman specialising in reviewing new and or unreviewed zombie titles see more at audiblereviews dot org"

Very punctilios word choices

First of all, the TV series if VERY loosely based on this book. About the only thing in common is the ship and a few of the sailors names. That's fine with me because the idea behind the book is very good. Yes, some of the information is a bit dated, but I was glad to hear the ship had a good supply of VHS and cassette tapes.

The word choice in this book was very punctilios (you can look it up too). Halfway through the book I was convinced the author was just starting to make words up. I even did a web search for a dictionary just so I could start looking words up to catch him. Perhaps due to the generational gap, but the authors literary style would have fit in better had the book taken place in the 1700's.
example:
"... the waters offering us a spondaic series of soft swells which gave a gentle roll and pitch so synchronized as to make the ship seem for once in fraternal rapport with the sea and to move through it with a serine swish. The sea all about lying in a melancholy splendor, luminous stillness the universe seemingly held in hands of tranquility ..."

The narrator didn't skip a beat in his reading of this book. There were no edits or stutters as he muddled through these words and his voices varied and were appropriate. Maybe the narrator read the same "word of the day" books the author did.

I liked this book but now feel like I have neglected my study of the English language and will endeavor to broaden my vocabulary so I can talk good too. 😀
Read full review

- Ryan "You want me to take out both ear buds?"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-18-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.