The Last Hieroglyph : Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith

  • by Clark Ashton Smith
  • Narrated by Chris Kayser, Gregory St. John, William Neenan, Daniel May, Bernard Clark, Fleet Cooper
  • Series: Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith
  • 14 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Last Hieroglyph is the fifth of the five-volume Collected Fantasies series. Editors Scott Connors and Ron Hilger have compared original manuscripts, various typescripts, published editions, and Smith's notes and letters, in order to prepare a definitive set of texts.
The Last Hieroglyph includes, in chronological order, all of Clark Ashton Smith's stories from "The Dark Age" to "The Dart of Rasasfa".


Audible Editor Reviews

The fifth and final volume of definitive versions of Clark Ashton Smith’s dark fantasy and horror stories anthologizes the 29 published prior to his death, including "The Death of Malygirs", "The Tomb-Spawn", "The Last Hieroglyph", "The Threader of the Dust", and "The Black Abbott of Pthuum". The extensive notes, scholarship, and, of course, Smith’s writing itself are performed by different actors, whose individual contributions combine to create layers of appreciation for this master of speculative fiction, the third member of the Weird Tales unholy horror trinity - the other two being H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Book!

If you ever read H.P. Lovecraft - you will enjoy this read. Clark writes well, but a little different from how HPL writes. Very few of Clarks stories succeed in creating the atmosphere of horror which made HPL so famous but I would still highly recommend Clarks writings as the next best thing to HPL.
Read full review

- Ipad2

good, but the best

some of the stories were quite good. a few were not as great most of his other works. definitely worth a listen. especially if you have listened to the previous 4 anthologies.
Read full review

- scott

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-22-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios