The Lair of Bones : Runelords

  • by David Farland
  • Narrated by Ray Porter
  • Series: Runelords
  • 15 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Prince Gaborn, the Earth King, has defeated the forces arrayed against him each time before: the magical and human forces marshaled by Raj Ahten, who seeks immortality at any cost and has given up his humanity in trade; and the inhuman, innumerable, insectile hordes of the giant Reavers from under the Earth, whose unknowable motives are inimical to human life.
Now there must be final confrontations, both on the field of battle, with the supernatural creature that Raj Ahten has become, and underground, in the cavernous homeland of the Reavers, where the sorcerous One True Master who rules them all lies in wait—in the Lair of Bones. The survival of the human race on Earth is at stake.

More

What the Critics Say

“The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland’s The Lair of Bones…Farland’s imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact…. Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland’s Runelords.”(Romantic Times)
“David Farland’s Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read.” (Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times best-selling author of A Forest of Stars)
"The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A very good ending to the series

My review for the whole series (including this book) is pretty much the same as i gave it for the last book which i am copying below. The great thing about this book is that it completes the series.

If you are looking for the 'fantastic' part in a fantasy, this is your book.

World is vivid, and it is serious where people with power held up to serious responsibilities. The magic system is unique, and story line moves at a fast pace. Characters are flushed out, and narrator does justice to them.

My only gripe is that this is a very serious book and does not stop for any light moments. Though, given the background and pace of the book, i am not surprised.

I highly recommend this series.
Read full review

- Adnan

The Saga ends...and peace begins.

Gaborn's journey to becoming the Earth King comes to a dramatic and victorious end. He maintains his humanity even though he has caused the lose of life and innocent along the way. This audible edition is an enjoyable listen and is recommend if you enjoy epic fantasy and telling of a tales and myths.
Read full review

- Scott "I am a registered nurse and a father of four great kids. I live in a rural part of Oregon and love it. I enjoy books, but Sci-Fi Fantasy has allows been the ones I reach for more than others."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.