Regular price: $20.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times bestselling coauthors, a charming romantic fantasy
Mercedes Lackey is the New York Times best-selling author of the Valdemar series and romantic fantasies like Beauty and the Werewolf and The Fairy Godmother. Now these New York Times and USA Today bestselling collaborators bring romance to the fore with The House of the Four Winds.
The rulers of tiny, impoverished Swansgaard have twelve daughters and one son. While the prince’s future is assured, his twelve sisters must find their own fortunes.
Disguising herself as Clarence, Princess Clarice intends to sail to the New World. When the crew rebels, Clarice/Clarence, an expert with rapier and dagger, sides with the handsome navigator, Dominick, and kills the cruel captain.
Dominick leads the now - outlawed crew in search of treasure in the secret pirate haven known as The House of the Four Winds. They encounter the sorceress Shamal, who claims Dominick for her own - but Clarice has fallen hard for Dominick and won’t give him up without a fight.
Full of swashbuckling adventure, buoyant magic, and irrepressible charm, The House of the Four Winds is a lighthearted fantasy romp by a pair of bestselling writers.

©2014 Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Phillip on 09-19-14

Solid story, but this one is popcorn

This series has an amazing potential for diversity, which is both its greatest strength and its biggest flaw, but more on this later.

Basically, it appears that each book in the series will deal with one individual of the twelve royal daughters of a small pocket country. The overall setting is at its core our world in the early 1700s, but magic, called thaumaturgy, is recognized as a natural science. This first book focuses on Clarice, the eldest of the Dozen Daughters, who accepts her parents' offer of training in any occupation by choosing to become a swordmaster. The fundamental difficulty of this path is that she must first seek adventure, making a name for herself, to attract students to the school she will eventually open. Thus she goes to the new world, runs afoul of many pirates and an evil sorceress, and ends up falling in love in an entirely predictable fashion.

There is serious foreshadowing of future books in her description of her sisters. This represents the strength of the series, since no two books will be describing similar personalities. Unfortunately, this is also the greatest weakness. I actually want another Clarice book or two more than I want the story of any of the other sisters. On the other hand, there is no reason in the current publishing environment for one or more of the sisters to be granted a full trilogy. In my mind, this may be the best course for the series.

If you enjoy "The Fire Rose" or the Five Hundred Kingdoms books, you will find this book highly addictive. It is nothing special but to quote The Fire Rose, sometimes you're in the mood for an extremely sweet confection.

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amanda on 08-09-14

A Swashbuckling Adventure of the First Caliber!

I discovered Mercedes Lackey in middle school, and while not the target audience of the Valdemar series, I was drawn in and have continued to do so some 12 or so years later. This new series is no exception to her rule of wondrous books with magic and adventure! The tale is full of the world building that Lackey excels in, painting a clear view and allowing immersion in it - if you're not fond of details about the ship and life aboard please sail along to another choice in book. There were moments that seemed a little rushed, as a hard copy reader pointed out, there was quick acceptance of her and relationship progression after the reveal - I'm sure due to the fact that the story was soon to wrap up. That being said, the book really was a gem. From the anguish under the rule of a cruel captain, to the desperation of the heroine and crew, to the machinations of an enchantress, and the battles with the sea herself, this book was a grand adventure. I was loathe to cease listening and eager for the commute and activities that provided the time to "read", as such I finished it in about two days.

**if you are looking for a dime store romance novel, please pass this one through. It has the level of romance/ relationship as her various Elementals works - it is present but clean. I confess that I hope this is the intent for all her books in this series, and am very eager to see the next work.

The narrator read at a splendid pace that whisks you away with the fear of whiplash as some others do. She had a great range of characters and kept them straight, without muddling of the characters. I look forward to hearing more works from her.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews