The Guns of the South

  • by Harry Turtledove
  • Narrated by Paul Costanzo
  • 24 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

January 1864: General Robert E. Lee faces defeat. The Army of Northern Virginia is ragged and ill-equipped. Gettysburg has broken the back of the Confederacy and decimated its manpower. Then, Andries Rhoodie, a strange man with an unplaceable accent, approaches Lee with an extraordinary offer. Rhoodie demonstrates an amazing rifle: its rate of fire is incredible, its lethal efficiency breathtaking - and Rhoodie guarantees unlimited quantities to the Confederates. The name of the weapon is the AK-47.


What the Critics Say

"An exceptionally riveting and innovative narrative that successfully straddles the gulf between fact and fantasy." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved the book but...

This has been a favourite of mine since I bought my first copy in 1992. I love the storyline and how the author works out the plot lines. I also love how Lee deals with the oddity of time travel with the greatest of ease. It might've been interesting to see how he would've marveled at the modern world had he had the chance to see it.

I did NOT care much for the performance. While he did make effort to have the characters speak with the proper enthusiasm, he mispronounced simple words, all the characters sounded the same, and the reading of the story outside of the characters speaking was very dull and monotonous. Many times during long spells of just story, I found myself nodding off. I would not recommend this for listening to while driving.
I WOULD listen to it again, as it's a favourite of mine but please let me know if you ever get someone who knows how to read and make a book come alive for the listener to perform this title.
Read full review

- Tami A.

One of Turtledove's very best...

If you like his alternate histories, this is a must buy. Give up that Audible credit!
Read full review

- Michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio