Regular price: $47.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $47.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Wheel of Time turns and ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the age that gave it birth returns again. For centuries, gleemen have told the tales of The Great Hunt of the Horn. So many tales about each of the Hunters, and so many Hunters to tell of. Now, the Horn itself is found: the Horn of Valere long thought only legend, the Horn which will raise the dead heroes of the ages.
And it is stolen.
©1990 The Bandersnatch Group, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Jordan creates a lush, sprawling tapestry of a novel in the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings." (Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By So Fain on 04-24-10

Even better than the first!

The narration was great although the two readers do pronounce something differently. The switching off between the two was annoying to me at first but I quickly saw the merits of it. After finishing this book, I wouldn't have it read any other way!

The story really kicks off here. It's not the best ending but certainly not worth less than 4 stars. A great read and a faster pace than book one.

Read More Hide me

13 of 13 people found this review helpful


By William on 03-01-09

Great

It was a great read and just as fun listerning to is as a re-read! Good build up of characters and a smooth, gripping story.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Anette Flewers on 07-24-07

As good as the 1st!


The Great Hunt takes up the reigns where the Eye Of The World leaves off, absorbing me into it's story and once again leaving me eager for more!

A story in it's own right, you could probably jump into this book without reading the first - but what a waste that would be!

Think 'Lord of the Rings' and you'll have an idea of the sort of book this is. Full of rich detail, complex, interesting, and exciting. The plot seems to twist and turn and unlike other books I've read the ending isn't transparent from the start.

Never a dull moment!

Excellent!

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful


By m ward on 02-09-15

great but flawed

What did you like most about The Great Hunt?

the underlying story is conceptually great and engaging, very impressive. I just find the character models very basic...the interplay between men and women can be frankly irritating and somewhat juvenile. That aside the books each drive forward well, with each book marking a distinct step towards the end.

Who was your favorite character and why?

i guess Matt, just because he's the gambler/rogue type. Perrin is too much the boyscout, and Rand too much the brooding hero. Matt seems able to have a little irreverent fun.

Have you listened to any of Kate Reading and Michael Kramer ’s other performances? How does this one compare?

i have and they read them as well and professionally as others i've heard. I'm not particularly a fan of either's style, particularly Kate's to be honest...a little too stilted and dry, but that's a personal taste and isn't disliked enough to put me off.

Any additional comments?

these books are great, but let down a little by too many character threads that are never tied up and closed off, and poor female/male interplay/dialogue.
I've read all the books and am just re-listening to them at work in the background, as i don't need to pay full attention, already knowing the story...the books leave me occasionally enthralled and sadly sometimes annoyed.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Anonymous User on 11-07-17

I loved this book!

I was thoroughly impressed with the second book in the Wheel of Time series, the first book was a lot of world building and this book really just knocked it out of the park my favourite moment was at the end the final battle without giving any spoilers was fantastic.

the narration was easy to listen to except for Kate reading how to pronounces a lot of names places and objects really irritated me. I was just so used to Michael Kramer in the way that he pronounces, I guess that's just my OCD

but on that I am about to start on The Dragon Reborn.

Read More Hide me

By Kieran on 04-15-17

Exceptional

Loving this series and the way it's presented in audio. Looking forward to the rest.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc