The Great Hunt : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 26 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Wheel of Time turns and ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the age that gave it birth returns again.For centuries, gleemen have told the tales of The Great Hunt of the Horn. So many tales about each of the Hunters, and so many Hunters to tell of. Now, the Horn itself is found: the Horn of Valere long thought only legend, the Horn which will raise the dead heroes of the ages.And it is stolen.

More

What the Critics Say

"Jordan creates a lush, sprawling tapestry of a novel in the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Even better than the first!

The narration was great although the two readers do pronounce something differently. The switching off between the two was annoying to me at first but I quickly saw the merits of it. After finishing this book, I wouldn't have it read any other way!

The story really kicks off here. It's not the best ending but certainly not worth less than 4 stars. A great read and a faster pace than book one.
Read full review

- So Fain

Long but good

I do agree with some that this is a long drawn out series, and you have to really enjoin it to want to finish. But as I came late to it when there was already ten books out I did not have to wait as long as some for the conclusion. Even though the books are long, they are well written. Keeping your attention through out to the end. Jordan does a great job holding you in the story, if a bit long winded when sometimes describing things. After reading most of the series, I then read some of the reviews. Those that compared it to The Lord of the Rings stood out to me. I have read both series, and fine it funny that people think there wouldn't be simulates. All books have a common theme, good verse evil, but to compare the two is laughable. The stories are vastly different. The only thing similar about the two is that they are both fantasy books that are well written, and a good read.
Read full review

- Melissa

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2004
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio