• The Golden Apples of the Sun

  • And Other Stories
  • By: Ray Bradbury
  • Narrated by: Michael Prichard
  • Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 10-25-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (84 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ray Bradbury is a modern cultural treasure. His disarming simplicity of style underlies a towering body of work unmatched in metaphorical power by any other American storyteller. And here are 32 of his most famous tales - prime examples of the poignant and mysterious poetry that Bradbury uniquely uncovers in the depths of the human soul, the otherwordly portraits that spring from the canvas of one of the century's great men of imagination.
From a lonely coastal lighthouse to a 60-million-year-old safari, from the pouring rain of Venus to the ominous silence of a murder scene, Ray Bradbury is our sure-handed guide not only to surprising and outrageous manifestations of the future but also to the wonders of the present that we could never have imagined on our own.
©1953, renewed 1981 Ray Bradbury (P)2010 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Maliboo on 05-05-13

2 Books in 1

This is the omnibus edition originally known as Classic Stories 1: From The Golden Apples of the Sun and R is for Rocket, and later A Sound of Thunder and Other Stories. It includes both short story collections The Golden Apples of the Sun and R is for Rocket (which is focused mainly on science fiction stories.)


"The Fog Horn" (1952)
"The April Witch" (1951)
"The Wilderness" (1952)
"The Fruit at the Bottom of the Bowl" (1948)
"The Flying Machine" (1953)
"The Murderer" (1953)
"The Golden Kite, the Silver Wind" (1953)
"I See You Never" (1947)
"Embroidery" (1951)
"The Big Black and White Game" (1945)
"The Great Wide World Over There" (1953)
"Powerhouse" (1948)
"En La Noche" (1952)
"Sun and Shadow" (1953)
"The Meadow" (1947)
"The Garbage Collector" (1953)
"The Great Fire" (1949)
"The Golden Apples of the Sun" (1953)

"R Is for Rocket" (1943)
"The End of the Beginning" (1956)
"The Rocket" (1950)
"The Rocket Man" (1953)
"A Sound of Thunder" (1952)
"The Long Rain" (1950)
"The Exiles" (1950)
"Here There Be Tygers" (1951)
"The Strawberry Window" (1954)
"The Dragon" (1955)
"Frost and Fire" (1947)
"Uncle Einar" (1947)
"The Time Machine" (1957)
"The Sound of Summer Running" (1957)

There are only 4 stories missing from the original collections: "The Pedestrian," "Invisible Boy," "Hail and Farewell" and "The Gift."

These are truly two of Ray Bradbury's classic collections and the narration is terrific. I've found that the Trantor Audio versions of Bradbury's books to generally be the best versions available. A fantastic deal for 32 classic stories.

Read More Hide me

17 of 18 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mountain K9iner on 06-09-14

One of my favorite authors

If you could sum up The Golden Apples of the Sun in three words, what would they be?

Well worth it if only for "Here there by Tygers" and "Frost and Fire." These are two stories that give imaginative language to some of our deepest feelings and fears.

What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

The narrator is a bit too melancholic -- certainly there is an underlying sadness to many of the stories, but the narrator's style overlays the entire collection more despair than the stories naturally elicit.

Even so, Bradbury's storytelling power is so strong that it overcomes the narrator's one-stringed guitar.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Laurence on 04-07-13

Like a warm bath

I loved this book. Each short story had fascinating ideas while being incredibly touching and humane.

My one reservation is to do with the production. There is very little to mark the end of one tale and the start of the next. As a result I often found myself lost when I was listening to a new scenario while still imagining the previous one.

That aside, I enjoyed it very much and I expect to listen to this book several more times.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc