The Godling Chronicles: The Sword of Truth, Book 1 : The Godling Chronicles

  • by Brian D. Anderson
  • Narrated by Derek Perkins
  • Series: The Godling Chronicles
  • 12 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Darkness comes as a new power rises in Angrääl. The Dark Knight has betrayed the Gods and stolen The Sword of Truth, trapping them in heaven. With the power of the Sword he can reshape the world and bring death to all who oppose him. Only one thing stands between the darkness and the light. Gewey Stedding. Only he has the power to stand against the oncoming storm. Only he can mend the world. But only if he can discover his power....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Really happy I found this series

Easy to get into, has a good pace to it. The characters become well developed and are interesting. I felt invested in their lives. Fun story.
Read full review

- Susan

Good beginning to a Decent Fantasy Series

Good start to this fantasy series. Not greatly compelling, and sometimes a bit slow, but no real complaints from me. I like the characters and the relationships that are forming, with developing bonds of loyalty and camaraderie. I also like the type of magic the godling uses.

No sex, no cussing. Some bloody violence, but not too dark. Sometimes the author slips up, inserting modern slang phrases, but otherwise, decent writing style. The author writes action scenes better than he does dialogue, in my opinion.

Here is an example of a vivid action scene, from book 6:

"Again the Ajagara charged, its impact this time causing large cracks to form in the pillar. One more assault like that, and Gewey knew it would collapse and his protection would be gone. He looked urgently around for alternative cover, but with the mist still shrouding his surroundings, there was nothing in sight. As the beast backed away for a third assault, Gewey crouched low, his leg muscles tensed and ready to spring..."

Solid gold narration by Derek Perkins.
Read full review

- Skipper

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-20-2013
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing