Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the face of a death-defying power, what's the "new normal"?
Like all reporters, Jack longs for a breaking story but is stuck writing obituaries for a small-town rag. As his frustration mounts, it hits him that no one has died in over three days. Jack's odd observation becomes something far stranger when he connects a meteorite to the bizarre phenomenon.
Seizing the opportunity, Jack breaks the story and after a struggle to control the meteorite's power is resolved, a swelling population begins to create havoc. With the survival of the human race hanging in the balance, politicians enact increasingly horrific measures and desperate citizens take matters into their own hands.
Jack's in a position to not just report the news, but change it, and his decisions and observations creates an epic thriller that pits the potential of human immortality against a force designed to change - or obliterate - humanity itself.
Only one man might stand in its way...the man buried in the obits department. The Final Enemy is a story of social disintegration as well as a saga of survival. Secret plans, starvation, suicide, and a series of events that spiral the human race into a desperate survival mode evolve from a seemingly singular event and leads to a fast-paced action story that delights with its penchant for the unexpected.
In the tradition of A.G. Riddle and Matthew Mather, The Final Enemy is a gripping blend of thriller and science fiction that will prove hard to put down.
©2017 Dan Petrosini (P)2018 Dan Petrosini
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By John Campbell on 03-19-18

Solid dystopian endeavor!

Any additional comments?

I listened to The Final Enemy, narrated by Joseph Kidawski on audible. This is a dystopian style story with a twist. Petrosini takes a genre and turns it on its head in this novel. Normally the reader is faced with 2 dystopian style scenarios, 1)post apocalyptic where we encounter a world in which the catastrophe has already occurred, or 2)the books takes you through some time of world change where the catastrophe develops in course of the story and it most frequently is caused by some major terrible event.

In the Final Enemy, Petrosini starts by guiding the reader through an amazing break through. Life is preserved! The final enemy, or death is conquered by the appearance of some healing properties that accompany the arrival of a meteorite hitting North America. The author explores fabulously, what would happen if people no longer died. Wouldn't that be amazing? Well maybe not. There are other implications that come along with that scenario and what may seem great ultimately may not be. Be careful what you wish for.

Petrosini did a very good job at surprising me with a twist on this type of story. Unintentionally, I recently explored another dystopian style novel so my brain was beginning to work along certain guidelines. This book was the better in story and style. His characters were relatable and believable. The only downside was that I felt like there were some jumpy transitions and a couple of updates in the timeline that seemed very similar to previous ones. Other than these elements I enjoyed this book very much.

Kidawski did a good job narrating. His regular reading voice is clear and pleasant and his character voices were smooth enough to not sound forced. The only exception was grandma's and it was cringe worthy. But overall 4/5 for his part.

I received this edition in exchange for an unbiased review.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Erika on 03-08-18


This story is about a reporter who finds a meteorite that has some unique powers. People stop dying of natural causes which leads to over population. I won't give anymore away.

The story in many ways is frighteningly realistic yet at the same time its not such as animals over populating and humans starving. If there are too many animals why are humans starving and ating each other? That didn't make any sense to me

The story is easy to follow and pretty gory in parts. I liked the main character. He's a pretty normal guy. He thought he had something good and he did but it led to something horrible and at the same time it made his career.

The narrator did a good job. His voice was wasy to follow and easy on my ears.

Overall, a good story and different.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By C. Rowlands on 03-01-18

The downsides of immortality

The final enemy is the story of a meteor falling to earth that causes people to stop dying from natural causes and the unexpected downsides that come from this 'gift', it is predominantly told from the perspective of an initially young reporter called Jack Amato. He witnessed the initial impact and his role as obituary writer for a local Iowa newspaper helped him to be the first to spot the effects it was having on humanity.

The book makes frequent time jumps forwards from the initial impact, to when it was still considered to be a blessing and then onwards as the negative implications of an ever increasing population become more and more dire. Some of the stages of progression in the problems seemed quite outlandish, but others were very plausible and made those parts of the book much more compelling.

The narrator of the book did a good job with the main characters and the general narration of the story, but some of the secondary characters such as Jack's grandmother had needlessly over the top vocal performances that were a little jarring and detracted from the overall performance.

Overall this was an enjoyable premise for a book with a good performance.

[Note - I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.]

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Tony Bough on 02-27-18

Wow this was amazing whilst also terrifying!

Firstly wow. It's incredible. It starts at a really relaxed pace. Not slow but just sort of building. A curious guy in the right place putting a jigsaw together although granted a smart guy to do it. It's nice to have a story where the reporter isn't a bad guy with dodgy morals or twisted in some way.

I really enjoyed it from start to finish. Really good pace to the book and the narration is excellent.

It is however terrifying. It feels so real. Like this could be the way that the world, that the government react to the cessation of death and overpopulation. They are inept, self-serving and all corrupt. The things that happen to the characters as the story spirals out of control also feel real. Which is what's so scary because if you get this book and you should then there are some really messed up things that people get bought into.

I once read that MI5’s (Britains security agency) has a statement that society is “four meals away from anarchy”. Or to put some flesh on that they believe that Britain could be quickly reduced to large-scale disorder maybe even rioting and looting in the event that the supply of food stops. Well we certainly see that here with the morals.

I also like how everyone's morality becomes sightly more flexible once they are immortal and then with time they slip further and further. One little evil makes the next so much easier.

Really good!

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc