• The Final Enemy

  • By: Dan Petrosini
  • Narrated by: Joseph Kidawski
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-25-18
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Dan Petrosini
  • 4 out of 5 stars 3.9 (17 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the face of a death-defying power, what's the "new normal"?
Like all reporters, Jack longs for a breaking story but is stuck writing obituaries for a small-town rag. As his frustration mounts, it hits him that no one has died in over three days. Jack's odd observation becomes something far stranger when he connects a meteorite to the bizarre phenomenon.
Seizing the opportunity, Jack breaks the story and after a struggle to control the meteorite's power is resolved, a swelling population begins to create havoc. With the survival of the human race hanging in the balance, politicians enact increasingly horrific measures and desperate citizens take matters into their own hands.
Jack's in a position to not just report the news, but change it, and his decisions and observations creates an epic thriller that pits the potential of human immortality against a force designed to change - or obliterate - humanity itself.
Only one man might stand in its way...the man buried in the obits department. The Final Enemy is a story of social disintegration as well as a saga of survival. Secret plans, starvation, suicide, and a series of events that spiral the human race into a desperate survival mode evolve from a seemingly singular event and leads to a fast-paced action story that delights with its penchant for the unexpected.
In the tradition of A.G. Riddle and Matthew Mather, The Final Enemy is a gripping blend of thriller and science fiction that will prove hard to put down.
©2017 Dan Petrosini (P)2018 Dan Petrosini
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Natalie @ ABookLoversLife on 03-27-18

It's not great!

When Jack Amato, a newly graduated reporter who writes the obituaries for his local paper, witnesses a meteor falling to earth, he thinks no more about it. That is until he realises that he hasn't had to write a single obituary since that night, not one! Thinking this is strange, he digs deeper and calls hospitals in the vicinity. He narrows it down to about a 10 mile radius that had no natural death occur since that night. He puts two and two together and gets meteor!! The meteor in question was moved and Jack finds that the route the meteor took, no natural death occurred in those places either. This is Jack's big chance and he breaks the story. It changes everyone's life forever!!!

I was drawn to this book because of the cover and the description, and I eagerly dived in when I got my copy. I have to say that I'm so bummed it didn't live up to my hopes!! I did enjoy it for the most part, but I just felt it was bogged down by some unnecessary things.

I loved the idea of the plot. A meteor falls to earth and all natural death stops. I just felt that the author didn't give us enough information on the how. The science was missing and I think if we had had more of a sense of what the meteor actually did, it would have been so much better. I also felt like the execution of the plot was lacking. I mean, once the story breaks, everyone wants exposure to the meteor and the government comply. That didn't work for me, because in my mind, I feel like the meteor would have been squirreled away by the government for testing and the public wouldn't have seen it again, or not as easy anyway.

Plus, Jack "breaks" the news that now that natural death has stopped, overpopulation is a real concern. Well, I mean, ya!! That goes without saying. There is also so much more I want to say about parts of the plot that annoyed me a little, but I can't because they are pretty big spoilers!! Suffice it to say, things happen about three quarters of the way through and people have to turn to doing something huge to survive, and there was no uproar about it at all!! There were a lot of things that the government did that got little to no reaction and it just felt unrealistic.

Now, it's not all negative, I did enjoy parts of it!! I liked that the author forwarded the time line of the story, I liked that we get to see 10 years after the meteor hit. I found the overall story compelling in a weird way, because even though I wanted to put this aside plenty of times, I was intrigued enough to keep reading!!

In all, an ok read. Very much hit or miss and I think most people will either like it or hate it!

This seems to be Joseph Kidawskis first book as a narrator and it showed. He did have a few tones and voices for the characters, but the overall enthusiasm for the book was lacking. He didn't capture the atmosphere of the story enough to truly bring it to life. I also found the quality of the production wasn't as clear as it should be.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By John Campbell on 03-19-18

Solid dystopian endeavor!

Any additional comments?

I listened to The Final Enemy, narrated by Joseph Kidawski on audible. This is a dystopian style story with a twist. Petrosini takes a genre and turns it on its head in this novel. Normally the reader is faced with 2 dystopian style scenarios, 1)post apocalyptic where we encounter a world in which the catastrophe has already occurred, or 2)the books takes you through some time of world change where the catastrophe develops in course of the story and it most frequently is caused by some major terrible event.

In the Final Enemy, Petrosini starts by guiding the reader through an amazing break through. Life is preserved! The final enemy, or death is conquered by the appearance of some healing properties that accompany the arrival of a meteorite hitting North America. The author explores fabulously, what would happen if people no longer died. Wouldn't that be amazing? Well maybe not. There are other implications that come along with that scenario and what may seem great ultimately may not be. Be careful what you wish for.

Petrosini did a very good job at surprising me with a twist on this type of story. Unintentionally, I recently explored another dystopian style novel so my brain was beginning to work along certain guidelines. This book was the better in story and style. His characters were relatable and believable. The only downside was that I felt like there were some jumpy transitions and a couple of updates in the timeline that seemed very similar to previous ones. Other than these elements I enjoyed this book very much.

Kidawski did a good job narrating. His regular reading voice is clear and pleasant and his character voices were smooth enough to not sound forced. The only exception was grandma's and it was cringe worthy. But overall 4/5 for his part.

I received this edition in exchange for an unbiased review.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By MANI on 04-22-18

The final Enemy

Any additional comments?

This audiobook is a very fast read and good plot. Thought the dialogue was natural and believable. It was a thought provoking exploration of what would happen if we all lived forever.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By C. Rowlands on 03-01-18

The downsides of immortality

The final enemy is the story of a meteor falling to earth that causes people to stop dying from natural causes and the unexpected downsides that come from this 'gift', it is predominantly told from the perspective of an initially young reporter called Jack Amato. He witnessed the initial impact and his role as obituary writer for a local Iowa newspaper helped him to be the first to spot the effects it was having on humanity.

The book makes frequent time jumps forwards from the initial impact, to when it was still considered to be a blessing and then onwards as the negative implications of an ever increasing population become more and more dire. Some of the stages of progression in the problems seemed quite outlandish, but others were very plausible and made those parts of the book much more compelling.

The narrator of the book did a good job with the main characters and the general narration of the story, but some of the secondary characters such as Jack's grandmother had needlessly over the top vocal performances that were a little jarring and detracted from the overall performance.

Overall this was an enjoyable premise for a book with a good performance.

[Note - I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.]

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc