The Ember War : The Ember War

  • by Richard Fox
  • Narrated by Luke Daniels
  • Series: The Ember War
  • 15 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Ember War, book 1: The Earth is doomed. Humanity has a chance.
In the near future, an alien probe arrives on Earth with a pivotal mission: to determine if humanity has what it takes to survive the impending invasion by a merciless armada. The probe discovers Marc Ibarra, a young inventor who holds the key to a daring gambit that could save a fraction of Earth's population. Humanity's only chance lies with Ibarra's ability to keep a terrible secret and engineer the planet down the narrow path to survival. Earth will need a fleet. One with a hidden purpose. One strong enough to fight a battle against annihilation.
The Ember War is the first installment in an epic military sci-fi series. If you enjoyed A Hymn Before Battle by John Ringo and The Last Starship by Vaughn Heppner, then you'll love this explosive adventure with constant thrills and high stakes from beginning to end.
The Ruins of Anthalas, book 2: An ancient holocaust holds the key to humanity's survival.
Only a sliver of mankind survived the Xaros invasion. With Earth's defenses in ashes, nothing can stop the aliens' inevitable return. Hope arrives through a cryptic message from a long-lost alien race, promising the means to rebuild the shattered space fleet. Captain Valdar takes one of the last strike carriers, the Breitenfeld, and his shell-shocked crew on a desperate mission to the dead world. Unfortunately humans aren't the only power that received the ancient message....
The Ruins of Anthalas is the second book in The Ember War Saga, a military sci-fi space opera. If you like David Weber and John Ringo with a touch of Isaac Asimov, then you'll love this fast-paced and captivating adventure where humanity survives at the edge of a knife.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Amazing Military Space Sci-fi

This is definitely one of my new favorite space sci-fi audiobooks. The book is filled with everything you could want from a sci-fi novel... Space battles, ground battles, advanced technology, alien adversaries, alien allies, action, mystery, and suspense.

The book starts from the point-of-view of Marc Ibarra. A young scientist, Marc is lead by an unknown person (who seems to know everything about his unpublished work in mathematics) to the middle of nowhere. What he discovers is not a person, but an advanced, self-aware alien probe. It tells Marc that it was sent on a mission to help humanity prepare for an approaching threat that promises to destroy everything and everyone in it's path.
With the help of the alien AI, Marc and his company are successful in advancing humanity's technological level at a rapid pace. Even with all of the advanced technological breakthroughs, Marc is only able to hide one unsuspecting fleet of ships from the oncoming swarm of alien drones. When the fleet emerges from what they thought would be a short jump into FTL, they emerge in the same place decades in the future. They discover that while they were hidden, the rest of humanity has been destroyed, and it is up to the few remaining ships to combat the alien drones in an effort to save not only the human race, but countless other races the drones will undoubtedly destroy in their unstoppable advance.

Luke Daniels, of course, does another amazing narration with the Ember War books. I have listened to him in several other space sci-fi novels, and he is just as good in this book as he was in the others.

This was an all-around great listen. Anyone who enjoys space sci-fi will love this book.
Read full review

- Striker "Sci-fi, Fantasy, Mystery, Adventure, and YA Novels. If it weren't for physics, law enforcement, and my medication, I'd be unstoppable!"


The book starts out pretty good with a Scott Meyer type opening. Then the book jumps ahead in time and all imagination is replaced with clich├ęd, cardboard cutout characters and action. Hard core military fans and the paid help seem to like it a lot. You probably know what you like, so if your looking for some shoot-em up action, this is your cup of tea. Did you know that the American Flag is so superior to all other flags, that after sitting on the top of a pole for thirty years in bad weather and good, it will still wave?

Luke Daniels is excellent as always.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient" "My taste differs from kid books to gory horror books."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-23-2016
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing