Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $49.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A war fueled by the dark powers of sorcery is about to engulf the peaceful land of Osten Ard - for Prester John, the High King, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. And with his death, an ancient evil will at last be unleashed, as the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, seeks to regain his lost realm through a pact with one of human royal blood. Then, driven by spell-inspired jealousy and hate, prince will fight prince, while around them the very land begins to die.
Only a small scattered group, the League of the Scroll, recognizes the true danger awaiting Osten Ard. And to Simon - a castle scullion unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League - will go the task of spearheading the quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power...and a quest that will see him fleeing and facing enemies straight out of a legend maker's worst nighmares!
©2016 Tad Williams (P)2016 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Tose on 07-30-16

Better than I had dared hope

I knew this was one of my favorite stories but the incredible performance brought new life to the tale.

Like meeting a loved one after a long absence and finding them better than you possibly could imagine.

Read More Hide me

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

By Brad on 07-05-16

Glad it's finally available in audio

I have to admit that I'm only a few hours into this audiobook at this point, but I've already read it in print, so I know what happens. That being said, I'm very glad that this great series is finally being made available in audio. So far, I'm very impressed with the narration. Mr. Wincott does an excellent job differentiating between characters, so it's easy to tell who's speaking, and he reads at a comfortable pace while infusing the narration with the proper emotions. The books themselves are fantastic, and Memory, Sorrow, & Thorn is one of my all time favorite series. This series was written back in the 80's, so the plot may seem familiar to many readers, but It's very well written with characters you can care about.
The bottom line is that I highly recommend this book. Back to listening!

Read More Hide me

25 of 28 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc