• The Court of Broken Knives

  • Empires of Dust, Book 1
  • By: Anna Smith Spark
  • Narrated by: Colin Mace, Meriel Rosenkranz
  • Length: 16 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 06-29-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.5 (2 ratings)

Regular price: $17.55

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.55

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and R. Scott Bakker, The Court of Broken Knives is the explosive debut by one of grimdark fantasy's most exciting new voices.
They've finally looked at the graveyard of our empire with open eyes. They're fools and madmen and like the art of war. And their children go hungry while we piss gold and jewels into the dust.
In the richest empire the world has ever known, the city of Sorlost has always stood, eternal and unconquered. But in a city of dreams governed by an imposturous emperor, decadence has become the true ruler and has blinded its inhabitants to their vulnerability. The empire is on the verge of invasion - and only one man can see it.
Haunted by dreams of the empire's demise, Orhan Emmereth has decided to act. On his orders, a company of soldiers cross the desert to reach the city. Once they enter the palace, they have one mission: kill the emperor, then all those who remain. Only from ashes can a new empire be built.
The company is a group of good, ordinary soldiers for whom this is a mission like any other. But the strange boy Marith who walks among them is no ordinary soldier. Marching on Sorlost, Marith thinks he is running away from the past which haunts him. But in the Golden City, his destiny awaits him - beautiful, bloody, and more terrible than anyone could have foreseen.
©2017 Anna Smith-Spark (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Grim, gritty and fast paced, with great battle scenes! Anna Smith-Spark is one to watch." (Andy Remic)
"Holy crap this is good!" ( Grim Tidings)
"On a par with R. Scott Bakker." ( Grimdark Alliance)
Show More Show Less

No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By A. Davis on 10-22-17

Amazing first book

It’s fresh. There isn’t a stale idea in there. However this comes at a price. All the tropes and cliches you expect and love in grim dark fantasy I’m afraid don’t taste exactly as you would expect. You’ll love this if you’re hoping for something new. You’ll be disappointed if you wanted a typical grim dark fantasy. Presentation, well that’s different too. Two narrators! It gives a entirely different perspective. Unfortunately, there is a bit of a difference in performance skill between the two, so it looses a couple of stars on that, not because of the dual narration concept.
I really enjoyed this book, I loved the differences and the way it didn’t quite give me what I expected.
The story is engaging and the characters complex... boy are they complex. The story gets only four stars from me though because I felt that the end was a little too much of a bridge to the second book. Once the second book is available that will work fine but in the interim it’s really frustrating.
Overall, definitely five stars and an author to watch. Amazing first book.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Joel on 01-13-18

Dark. Very, very dark. Yet somehow beautiful.

Despite some odd meanders and occasional loss of momentum, this is an incredibly impressive debut.

The prose is poetic and frenetic by turns, doing a wonderful job of painting a vivid world and letting the reader feel it through the pores of some deeply flawed characters.

This world is definitely not a place for heroes but then I think that is the point. There are no heroes in any world, just people trying to survive.

Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys an interesting story with deep, human characters.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc