The Course of Empire : Jao

  • by Eric Flint, K. D. Wentworth
  • Narrated by Chris Patton
  • Series: Jao
  • 18 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Conquered by the Jao twenty years ago, the Earth is shackled under alien tyranny - and threatened by the even more dangerous Ekhat, one of whose genocidal extermination fleets is coming to the solar system. The only chance for human survival is in the hands of an unusual pair of allies: a young Jao prince, newly arrived to Terra to assume his duties, and a young human woman brought up amongst the Jao occupiers. But, as their tentative alliance takes shape, they are under pressure from all sides. A cruel Jao viceroy on one side, determined to drown all opposition in blood; a reckless human resistance on the other, which is perfectly prepared to shed it. Added to the mix is the fact that only by adopting some portions of human technology and using human sepoy troops can the haughty Jao hope to defeat the oncoming Ekhat attack - and then only by fighting the battle within the sun itself.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

ERIC FLINT'S VENTURE INTO FULL SCI-FI MODE

Earth is conquered by alien race "Jao", as the book progresses we find out that some time ago Jao were slaves of a race which used them as soldiers. We find out that Jao were created and modified by that race. And now that race wants to destroy all sentience in the universe.
Because of that genetic tinkering, Jao do not have much of creativity, and original ideas, but they possess "the Flow" sense of time which almost feels like precognition.
Perhaps humans and Jao have something to learn from each other
Read full review

- Professor "1*=I didn't like it..... 2*=It was OK...... 3*=It was good but I will never read it again.......... 4*=Maybe I will read it again in the future.............. 5*=I will definitely read it again(maybe more than once)"

An excellent use of a credit

Any additional comments?

I read a lot of books and buy a lot of Audible credits. It is not often that I'll plonk down a precious credit for a book I have already read but The Course of Empire was an excellent read when it came out many years ago, a book I remember thoroughly enjoying, and I wanted to re-familiarize myself with the series before picking up its sequel Crucible of Empire.

Course of Empire is not groundbreaking, but it is a well told story, well narrated, with an interesting take on an alien culture. Like many books in the military Sci-Fi genre there is a fair degree of predictability in the flow of the story, you can see the arc of the book from early pages. But its still a very entertaining Arc. Fans of David Weber or David Drake would do well to pick this one up.

Read full review

- Adam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-27-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios