Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Goddess had rescued Wallie Smith from certain death, endowed him with a magnificent new body, and gifted him with the legendary Sapphire Sword of Chioxin. She asked only one service in return.... So Wallie became the Goddess' champion - and promptly found himself on the losing side in a battle against magics far beyond any the priests of the Goddess could hope to summon.
After eons of exile, sorcerers walked the World again, claiming lands and souls for their Fire God. Wallie quickly found that swords were no match for spells - and how could mere mortals prevail against the powers of magic?
©1988 D.J. Duncan (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Skipper on 10-05-16

Fun story continues!

Superb narration. This is a fun series, told in 3rd person. The pace moves faster in this book, compared to book 1, probably because the characters travel around. Much of this book is set on board a trading ship called the Sapphire, and in towns along The River (unnamed). This river is believed to be the goddess, a river that has no source apparently, and appears to loop around, reconfiguring itself like Chutes and Ladders.

Wonderful cast of characters! They grew on me in this book. Together, they must interpret the vague riddle from the goddess and accomplish her mission. I was constantly guessing the riddle, too. Surprising twists.

Seven ranks of swordsmen and the color of their kilt:
Level 1 is called a novice, wearing a white kilt.
Level 2 is called apprentice, wearing a yellow kilt.
Level 3 is called swordsman, wearing brown. (At this level, you can own things.)
Level 4 is called adept, wearing orange.
Level 5 is called master, wearing red.
Level 6 is called "honorable" wearing green.
Level 7 is called "lord" wearing blue.

Slaves, beggars, and the nameless wear black.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By R. Lindhardt on 03-29-18

Excellent Continuation of the Story

The second book in the series, greatly helped my estimation of where the story could go! Simply marvelous story telling!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc