The Collapsing Empire : The Interdependency

  • by John Scalzi
  • Narrated by Wil Wheaton
  • Series: The Interdependency
  • 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Our universe is ruled by physics, and faster-than-light travel is not possible - until the discovery of The Flow, an extradimensional field we can access at certain points in space-time that transports us to other worlds, around other stars.
Humanity flows away from Earth, into space, and in time forgets our home world and creates a new empire, the Interdependency, whose ethos requires that no one human outpost can survive without the others. It's a hedge against interstellar war - and a system of control for the rulers of the empire.
The Flow is eternal - but it is not static. Just as a river changes course, The Flow changes as well, cutting off worlds from the rest of humanity. When it's discovered that The Flow is moving, possibly cutting off all human worlds from faster-than-light travel forever, three individuals - a scientist, a starship captain, and the empress of the Interdependency - are in a race against time to discover what, if anything, can be salvaged from an interstellar empire on the brink of collapse.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure" (Booklist)
"Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time." (Entertainment Weekly)
"Political plotting, plenty of snark, puzzle-solving, and a healthy dose of action…Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure." (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Male voices for women? 15 people in first 20 min?

Scalzi bombards listener with a barrage of characters in the first 20 minutes. It's an overwhelming sloppy mess. If any listeners truly can follow it all, good for you. You've bested a man with a 157 IQ.
To make matters worse, the narration fails (unsurprisingly) to provide adequate voices for the deluge of characters..and when it finally does, we have an old man voice, and two women with disturbingly male voices with a masculine delivery style. Everyone blames the narrator. But it's not how the business us run. It's the *producer's* fault. So often in the industry, the producers direct the voice talent, literally forcing professionals to render ridiculous performances. Was that the case here? I don't know.
I'm disappointed in Scalzi this time. The introductory chapters of fiction are supposed to draw the listener in. Instead, Scalzi uncharacteristically strays into a machine-gun paced information and character overload style. It didn't serve to draw me in. It repelled me, as if someone sprayed mace at my face from point blank range. I'm outta here, Scalzi.
Last: kudos to Audible for your fantastic policy of refunding customers who don't enjoy their purchases.
Read full review

- Mr. Coder

Another of Scalzi’s Futuristic Sci-Fi Adventures

Scalzi is one of the greatest science fiction writers of our time. He is easily one of my favorite authors and did not disappoint me with this book. Any fans of previous Scalzi books will very likely love this one as well.

This story centers around a futuristic universe where humanity has been separated from earth for thousands of years. Humanity is spread over 80 worlds under a common government called the Interdependency. The Interdependency, consisting of the Guild, the Church, and the Parliament is controlled by the monarchical position of the Emperox. These worlds are linked by an inter-dimensional pathway known as “The Flow.” With faster-than-light travel having proven impossible, the Flow is the only thing that allows travel between planets.
Cardenia, bastard daughter to the Emperox, is second in line to the throne until the sudden death of her brother. With her father on his death bed, Cardenia must come to terms with the fact that she will soon inherit her father’s title, making her the most powerful person in the Interdependency… And by some, the most hated.
Meanwhile, in the farthest star system known as “End” to its inhabitants, a scientist makes an empire-shattering discovery…
The Flow will soon be shifting, thereby cutting off all of humanity's star systems from contact with each other. With each world dependent on trade with the others, the Interdependency will certainly not survive. If the Interdependency dies, humanity will likely follow…

Wil Wheaton has been one of my favorite narrators since he narrated Scalzi’s Fuzzy Nation book. His performance was top-notch as usual.

I would highly recommend this book to all sci-fi and Scalzi fans. Five stars!
Read full review

- Striker "Sci-fi, Fantasy, Mystery, Adventure, and YA Novels. If it weren't for physics, law enforcement, and my medication, I'd be unstoppable!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-21-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios