The Broken Cycle : John Grimes

  • by A. Bertram Chandler
  • Narrated by Aaron Abano
  • Series: John Grimes
  • 4 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Being lost in space was no new experience to John Grimes, whose career as an interstellar officer had brought him into many such dilemmas. But being lost inside a colossal alien spacecraft had no precedent.
Complicating the matter was the discovery that the very universe was not their own but an alternate and that their captor seemed to be the omnipotent force of that entire other cosmos.
As Grime's only companion was the comely policewoman, Una Freeman, the fate that the Alien God selected for them required the creation of a Garden of Eden. But there were two serpents in this one - both of them bicycles!
It's a weird, wild romp in space-time - one of the most surprising adventures of the man that has been called the Horatio Hornblower of Space.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Proposed reading/listening list

If you could sum up The Broken Cycle in three words, what would they be?

Several Short Stories

Who was your favorite character and why?

John Grimes because he acts like a lightning rod attracting any stray adventure

Any additional comments?

Following is the proposed reading/listening list from A. Bertram Chandler's readers
01-The Road to the Rim (1959, 1967)
02-To Prime the Pump (1971)
Grimes at Glenrowan (1978) short story not included in book form
03-The Hard Way Up (1972) 7 short stories
With Good Intentions (1972)
The Subtractor (1969)
The Tin Messiah (1969)
The Sleeping Beauty (1970)
The Wandering Buoy (1970)
The Mountain Movers (1971)
Grimes and the Gread Race (1980) Not included in The Hard Way Up
What You Know (1971)
04-The Broken Cycle (1975)
05-Spartan Planet (1968) published under several different names
Grimes Among the Gourmets (1978) Short story

Read full review

- Richard

Pretty Damn Good!

More trouble for John Grimes! Good story with good narration. How can one man find him self in bind after bind and make out ok like Mr.
Read full review

- Dennis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios