The Boy on the Bridge : The Girl with All the Gifts

  • by M. R. Carey
  • Narrated by Finty Williams
  • Series: The Girl with All the Gifts
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of USA Today best seller The Girl with All the Gifts, a terrifying new novel set in the same post-apocalyptic world.
Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy.
The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world.
To where the monsters lived.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Bridge Worth Crossing

Any additional comments?

With the Boy on the Bridge, author Carey provides an excellent foreshadowing for his previous book the Girl with All the Gifts and Williams makes a wonderful voice for the narrative.

Bridge is not so much a prequel, although it does take place before Gifts and incorporates some of its hardware, as it is a spin off. A crew of scientists and military are sent out of the last human strong hold in Britain to pick up samples, left by a previous mission that went missing. Their mission is to find a cure for the zombie plague (not really a plague but a fungus). The tie in is that the vehicle is the same armored RV (the Rosalind Franklin or Rosie) that will be used in Gifts.

Inside the Rosie they cross country largely able to ignore the hungries. But, they can't ignore themselves and since they are basically locked in a box they eventually all end up at each other's throats or in each others arms. The underlying drama is that a coup back home results in conflicting orders and loyalties for the crew. Meanwhile, they are besieged by 2nd generation child hungries who pursue the Rosie after the body of one of their own is taken aboard for study. To the shock and surprise of the crew the little hungries cunning and abilities make them an even match for their well armed human adversaries.

Overall a highly enjoyable read/listen. The only downside is that in the epilogue Carey makes it clear that he isn't interested in writing any more in this series by leaping ahead 20 years. In this short interaction at the end we get two decades in bullet form when it would have been a lot more fun to have read about it in subsequent books.

Read full review

- John

Not as good as The Girl with All the Gifts

TGWATG was one of my favorite books of 2014. I listened to it twice—and again after this one. The Boy on the Bridge has none of the character development and likeable charcters or (initial) mystery of TGWATG.

The writing was solid (as was the audio narrator) but I really didn’t connect with any of the characters, in part because the author doesn’t delve nearly as deeply into their heads as with the first book. With the characters that he does explore, I didn’t particularly like or dislike them. And Stephen…like unreliable narrators are all the rage these days, so are books with Aspergers or autism, and it took me till nearly the end of the book to feel anything other than annoyance with him.

As for the story, it starts slowly and rolls along at that pace for the entire book. Great epilogue, however.

At any rate, it was interesting enough to keep listening, I won’t return it, but won’t listen again.
Read full review

- NMwritergal

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio