The Bloody Crown of Conan

  • by Robert E. Howard
  • Narrated by Todd McLaren
  • 17 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In his hugely influential and tempestuous career, Robert E. Howard created the genre that came to be known as sword and sorcery - and brought to life one of fantasy's boldest and most enduring figures: Conan the Cimmerian, reaver, slayer, barbarian, king. This volume gathers together three of Howard's longest and most famous Conan stories: "The People of the Black Circle": Amid the towering crags of Vendhya, in the shadowy citadel of the Black Circle, Yasmina of the golden throne seeks vengeance against the Black Seers. Her only ally is also her most formidable enemy - Conan, the outlaw chief."The Hour of the Dragon": Toppled from the throne of Aquilonia by the evil machinations of an undead wizard, Conan must find the fabled jewel known as the Heart of Ahriman to reclaim his crown...and save his life. "A Witch Shall Be Born": A malevolent witch of evil beauty. An enslaved queen. A kingdom in the iron grip of ruthless mercenaries. And Conan, who plots deadly vengeance against the human wolf who left him in the desert to die.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awesome! Crom and Steel! Long live Conan!

Three great (and longer than usual) Conan stories. The narration by Todd McLaren is as great as usual. Long live Conan. "Crom and Steel!!!!"
Read full review

- Kirk

It's Conan!!!

I dunno. This is classic early fantasy. Love the genre or hate it, Conan is the best of the early stuff. Conan is Conan. Howard was one of the first writers to take up Lord Dunsany's mantle and run with it. Yes it's racist. Yes it's cliched. (Neither endearing but,) It's CONAN. Best to read one of the earlier stories than to start with this triptych, however. This set places Conan in late life after the many adventures in the early stories.

It's not Jordan, but without Howard, Jordan might have been writing in another genre.
Read full review

- Craig

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2009
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio