The Better Part of Valor : Confederation

  • by Tanya Huff
  • Narrated by Marguerite Gavin
  • Series: Confederation
  • 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Telling a two-star general what she really thought of him was the mistake Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr made with General Morris. But as a battle-hardened professional, she took pride in doing her job and getting her troops back alive. So after she'd saved the mission to bring the Silsviss into the Confederation - instead of losing them and their world to the enemy known only as the Others - she let the general know exactly how she felt.And Torin's reward - or punishment - was to be separated from her platoon and sent off on what might well prove an even more perilous assignment. She was commandeered to protect a scientific expedition to a newly discovered and seemingly derelict spaceship of truly epic proportions. And Confederation politics had saddled her with a commanding officer who might prove more of a menace to the mission's success than anything they encountered.Only time would tell if the ship was what it appeared to be or a trap created by the Others - or the work of an as yet unknown alien race with an agenda that could prove all too hostile to other life-forms.


Audible Editor Reviews

The second book in Tanya Huff's Valor Confederation series has staff sergeant Torin Kerr sent on a secret mission after mouthing off to a superior officer. She leads a group of Marines in an exploration of an enemy alien spaceship, leading to a dangerous and mysterious chain of events that has Kerr relying on her cunning and smarts in order to survive. Marguerite Gavin gives an invigorating and quick-witted performance that complements the tough-talking protagonist, turning her into a charismatic and lovable heroine in this suspenseful piece of military science fiction.


What the Critics Say

"This sequel to Valor's Choice, featuring a gutsy, fast-thinking female space-marine protagonist, establishes veteran fantasy author Huff as an accomplished spinner of high-tech military-sf adventure." (Library Journal)
"Torin is everything you want in an action heroine (or hero, for that matter), and this book will leave [audiences] anxious for her next adventure." (KLIATT)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Kicks Off The Main Story Arc For the Series

I enjoyed the first book in the Confederation series, Valor's Choice, but didn't love it. The story was decent yet it was also somewhat cold and impersonal. But wow, Huff really kicked up the story and characters in this second book and by the end, I was absolutely passionate about the entire series. Each book would end up getting better and better but the seeds for the overall story arc starts here in the second book.

Torrin is sent on a special mission after upsetting the brass - one with a great deal of uncertainty and unpleasantness. But in dealing with an unknown type of alien - as well as her greatest threat of all, having to work with civilians - Torrin will really have to use all her intelligence and military skills in order to survive what is about to be thrown at her.

Book two makes book one seem like a standalone or prequel to the series since it is here that we get to meet so many of the many characters who will end up in important roles in the rest of the series. Of course, there is also plenty of action and a heck of a lot of mystery for Torrin to solve or overcome.

I've listened to all the books in the series and admittedly didn't like the narrator in the beginning. But wow, what she does with the voices becomes canon (ah Prezit, I love you!) and she does them so well. I hope she will always do the narration for all future volumes.

This rapidly rose to become one of my favorite series - all begun here in this very important second volume.
Read full review

- Joki

great series

I really enjoyed this series, enough that even though I had read the books in print, I picked up the audible versions for a different take.
Read full review

- Lydia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2009
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio