The Bells of Red Glen: Books One and Two : Red Glen

  • by Michael Veith
  • Narrated by William L. Sturdevant
  • Series: Red Glen
  • 5 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Bells of Red Glen is a fantasy adventure novel designed to encourage young listeners to embrace the many joys of reading and storytelling. The story is written in two books.
Book One is a charming Christmas story, introducing Montgomery Worthington, a proper and businesslike mouse with a flair for diplomacy and a love of music. When a rough and tumble family of mice moves into the church organ and threatens to ruin Christmas, Montgomery is summoned to save the season with a little help from the town mice and his business associate, a cat named Carlyle.
Book Two is an adventure novel. After a long absence, Carlyle returns to Red Glen bearing ill tidings. A cat named Nightshade has gathered an army of wild cats to do her bidding. Charmed by a lovely jeweled collar around her neck, the cats obey their queen without question, and invade town after town causing damage and havoc. They will soon be headed to Red Glen, where Nightshade intends to set up her final empire, but along the way, they have set their sights on the colony of Greening, home to hundreds of defenseless mice.
Carlyle has chosen Montgomery and his friends Alexander and Bob to embark on a diplomatic mission to enlist the aid of a pack of dogs in the nearby town of Highmoor. Back in Red Glen, a brave and determined young mouse named Tony Price has decided not to trust to diplomacy. He means to raise an army of mice and take the fight to Nightshade against all odds. Montgomery, Tony, Alexander, and Bob join forces and meet Nightshade head on in an epic battle to defend Greening. Will they succeed? If so, to what end? And at what cost?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The bells of red glen

Any additional comments?

What if you could swap your life with someone in years long past? It's one of those questions I ask myself a lot. This book explores the possibilities of time travel and changing personalities.

Read full review

- med c


I received an audio copy of this book to write a review.

Two great little stories about Montgomery Worthington. A mouse with class. In book one Mr. Worthington is able to help when a family moving into the church organ at Christmas. In the second book Mr. Worthington joins forces with other mice, and a pack of dogs to defend the town from a group of wild cats.

Kids of all ages will love both.
Read full review

- mrmeeka

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-24-2016
  • Publisher: Michael J. Veith