The Ashes of Worlds : Saga of Seven Suns

  • by Kevin J. Anderson
  • Narrated by David Colacci
  • Series: Saga of Seven Suns
  • 19 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The culminating volume in The Saga of Seven Suns weaves together the myriad story lines in a spectacular grand finale. Galactic empires clash, elemental beings devastate whole planetary systems, and the factions of humanity are pitted against one another. Heroes rise and enemies make their last stands in the climax of an epic tale eight years in the making.The Saga of Seven Suns is one of the most colorful and spectacular science-fiction epics of the past decade.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I liked this a little less then the other books in the series. Mostly it got to the point of ridiculous. Trees that uproot and become spaceships, a water spaceship, etc. I can take the two dimensional characters, I have read plenty of KJA to expect that, but the fantasy just became too much. I would love Anderson to write more in depth about the Ildirans or Klikiss or the Roamers and forget all the silly stuff.

If you are new to the series you of course must start at the beginning. The ratings for this series are similar to the ratings for a short story collection. Anderson has so many elements, that some appeal to some and some do not. Each book is like about five different books.
Here is how I rated the series.
Prequel---Veiled Alliances B
1. Hidden Empire= B+
2. A Forrest of Stars= A-
3. Horizon Storms=C+
4.Scatter Suns= B-
5. Of Fire and Night= B
6. Metal Swarm= B
7. The Ashes of Worlds= B-

My favorite character was Patrick Fitzpatrick the 3rd. In the first two or three books, I hated him, but he grew as a character and by the end, I liked him. The Roamers were pretty cool, they were the McGuyvers of space. They could take anything and make a working space ship out of it. They mined the gas giants for ekti star drive fuel. The Ildirans were a human like race that breed different breeds of people for different jobs. They were also all connected telepathically. The Klikiss was a race of giant insects and the Klikiss Robots rebelled against them and formed their own group. The green priest were telepathic with the world forest. If they could touch a World Forest Tree on one planet they could communicate with other priest on other planets who were connected to a World Forest Tree. So, there was plenty that I liked about the series.

The Hydrogues were an alien race that lived in the cores of gas giants. They were okay.

What was stupid were Wentals and Faeros. Wentals were sentient water based creatures and Faerous were sentient fire entitites living in stars. Bento becoming part of a tree was stupid, Jess Tamblyn becoming a Wental super being was stupid and there was an Ildiran that became a Faeros.

So, each book had something to hate and something to like. I did listen to all seven books and it is very rare for me to have the patience to go that far in any series. I suggest you start with Hidden Empire and go from there.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

I loved it!!!

For those who read the previous 6 books this was a great final book! Exciting with great narration.
Read full review

- Carpria

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-01-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio